#518 Returning back to Binding

Just this week I was able to power through and got around to beating one of the multiple end game bosses, allowing me access to the right item needed to unlock the path for the two proper end game boss.

as a sidenote: I love how in Binding of Isaac, the game keeps moving the goal posts from you whenever you beat the game. First the objective was to kill MOM, then it was to kill mom and survive two more levels to beat Mom’s Heart, then after beating Mom’s heart ten more times you unlock the tougher version of Mom’s Heart, It lives, which then allows you to to chose one of the two branching paths, up the Cathedral to fight Isaac or down to the Sheol to go against Satan. And after you beat each of those bosses enough times you finally unlock the time to go beyond that. And that’s not even talking about Mega Satan.

As a side note: I love how in Binding of Isaac, the game keeps moving the goal posts from you whenever you beat the game. First the objective was to kill mom, then it was to kill mom and survive two more levels to beat Mom’s Heart, then after beating Mom’s heart ten more times you unlock the tougher version of Mom’s Heart, It lives, which then allows you to chose one of the two branching paths, up the Cathedral to fight Isaac or down to the Sheol to go against Satan. And after you beat each of those bosses enough times you finally unlock the time to go beyond that. That’s not even talking about Mega Satan.

But as I reached that milestone of unlocking The Negative and sinking my 80th hour into Rebirth I remember when the re-master edition was about to be released when I was worried about two things:

First the very scary potential that the burnout I felt in the original Binding of Isaac would carry over to the new edition. I beat the last game, at that time I was just unlocking the side content) As explained in a blog post back in September (Be MOP #436).

That concern got place to rest almost immediately and it is self-evident that the new game re-energized my interest in the Rougelike dungeon crawler. I did have some qualms going through farming and unlocking characters and items that I already unlocked long ago in the old game. Besides that the game added enough new content, bosses, stages, and items for me to still find interesting, even after 400+ hours gameplay invested into the series.

As a second concern was that I would despise the new pixel art upgrade, which I know from reading the dev blog posts was a necessary evil when porting the old game’s content from the old, shoddy at best, flash engine.

The pixel art is a petty complaint I know but it fact that the original Binding of Isaac stood above all the other indies at the time because it opted out of the pixel art, but I would hold the first Binding of Isaac as a perfect example of an indie game that; did not use pixel art, had high replay value, was extremely challenging, and over all a generally good game.

So with one of the endings unlocked I went back and booted up the original game to see if the old, original, game still held up. The short answer: NOPE!

First thought when returning: 'I didn't realized I left 'Big Head' mode on"

First thought when returning: ‘I didn’t realized I left ‘Big Head’ mode on”

Going back to the old game was like night and day, there were noticeable drops in the framerates, there was a lack of the items that I was used to in the new game, the boss’s shot speed was terribly fast and there was no steam overlay. Overall the entire game looks and feels subpar after playing so long with Rebirth in mind.

I guess the moral of this blog post is that Rose colored glasses often clashes with reality. The moral of this story holds true with the original Pokemon game and most of your favorite childhood T.V shows.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

