#499 The return of the 3DS Time Capsule

I have recently run into a bit of a conundrum, I have currently run out of 3DS games to play. I gave up on Bravely Default game, after much self hype (Be MOP #487). Funny enough it was a just game that could not click with me, too much of a micromanagement JRPG for my liking. Besides that, I have been waning and waxing on my other source of 3DS entertainment, my burning desire to be the best, that no one ever was, by completing my X/Y and OR/AS pokedex.

At this point I can not even be bothered to finish the regional dex, let alone the national dex.

At this point I can not even be bothered to finish the regional dex, let alone the national dex.

 

Right now I am patiently waiting for the window of opportunity to open for my time to buy Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask for the 3DS. sometime after my next post-PAX paycheck. Two games I have been sinking my teeth into.

Some recent cleaning have allowed me to unearthed some old DS games, the two are the original New Super Mario Bros. and the other has held the focus of my spare time, Super Mario 64 DS, a game that takes the title of Nintendo’s worst gaming name of all time.

Its a Super Mario game with two suffixes, so much worst than any  Nintendo games with "New" in the name.

Its a Super Mario game with two suffixes, so much worst than any Nintendo games with “New” in the name.

I have played through it all the way once before when I first received the game back in 2004, but it is only replaying it now how much I appreciate Super Mario 64 DS as a wonderful game. It has all the original N64 textures and graphics with the added gameplay feature of the second screen serving as the map for the area and the option to play as Yoshi, Luigi, and Wario on top of the original Mario.and the gameplay is greatly improved by the addition of the 3DS circle pad.

Playing through Super Mario 64 DS for two reasons, one to get me back into the N64 play style or the OoT and MM3DS ports a kin  sequel to my pre-smash hype (Be MOP #429) where I played some origins and best of retro games of some of the Smash characters. More importantly I have been playing through Super Mario 64 DS because I can, out of all of the gaming companies, Nintendo is the only company to embrace backwards compatibility, meaning I can still play a 10 year old game and any other Nintendo DS game just like new.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

