#492 Games from my Backlog for the month of February 2015

Here we are again, a twelfth of the new year is gone, and I am still here working my way through my gaming backlog. Even though I have not updated the sidebar last month I am still on my personal journey to play through every title on my backlog by dedicating a few games to play each month.

For January, the first game I played was the Supergiant game, “Transistor” and it was a great indie game. It was a game that I played through in two sessions, and on top of the wonderful music and a plot that the player is thrown into head first. The gameplay was the most interesting part, having every fight be placed in real time like their previous game, The Bastion, but with an added twist to stop time and plan out a combination of highly customized attacks to wipe out waves of enemies.

Despite that fact that I throughout enjoyed the game, the reason you have not seen me write about this game is because there is nothing there to write a stand alone blog post without any spoilers that are important to the story and game.  I will say that Transistor will have one of the best non-Platinum Star end game boss fights.

 One day I will comprise a list of all my favorite videogame story and gameplay tropes.

One day I will comprise a list of all my favorite videogame story and gameplay tropes.

The other game that was on my chopping block was Telltale’s point and click game, “Strong bad’s cool game for attractive people”. Sadly this was one of those games that I just could not get into or play through the end.

This game one of earlier TellTale game, proper point and click adventure game before the success of Walking Dead series where the story takes president and the gameplay consists of a very linear set of challenges and puzzles. Where the Strong Bad game is more classic point and click adventure game, with open ended world and various game plot pieces that you can interact with at the same time, and it is up to you to find the right items and activate the events in order the progress the plot.

It is a shame that I just can not get through and find the appeal in the those types of games, especially since this is a fully voiced Homestar Runner game, with tons of dialogue for everything and it is exactly what I would need for my Homestar Runner fix. But I just don’t find the appeal in exploring through the stage finding the right sequence of actions to move one.

The only way I could get through this game was if I had the player guide constantly open one another screen. And at that point I would rather just watch a lets play of it on YouTube.

The only way I could get through this game was if I had the player guide constantly open one another screen. And at that point I would rather just watch a lets play of it on YouTube.

Just like the start of every month it is now time for me to pick two new games from my backlog not necessary play though but experience it and see if I like the gameplay or story.

The two games I decided to play for the month of February is the musically based indie platformer game, “Rush Bros”. To counterbalance the 2D pixel art platforming game, my other game title will be the big budget 3D open world game “Lego Marvel Super Heroes”.

I wrote about Lego games while ago and I said that because of how big their games are, that you only really need one Lego game to play through. Lego Batman 2 wasn’t the game for me so I hope the other Comic book game will scratch that itch.

I wrote about Lego games while ago and I said that because of how big their games are, that you only really need one Lego game to play through. Lego Batman 2 wasn’t the game for me so I hope the other Comic book game will scratch that itch.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Disclosure: I am apart of the Streamer Partnership Program for Turbine’s A.R.T.S/MOBA, Infinite Crisis, which is a subsidiary of Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment.

This blog post was written without approval, consent, or knowledge from Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment or any of it’s subsidiaries

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

