#487 Diving into Bravely Default

As a follow up to last week’s story finally opening my copy of Bravery Default, I decided to spend a few hours this past weekend in to dig into a proper Square Enix game. The first thing that struck me was how much of a JRPG this game is.

I have not played a proper JRPG in years, if you do not include the Pokemon series, my last game in the genre that I played through was Final Fantasy Tactics Advanced way, way, WAY back on the Game Boy Advance.

Looking back I'm kinda glad that FFTA was the last game I played, because it was had the best plot of all and of course it had the greatest villain of all time, Marche.

Looking back I’m kinda glad that FFTA was the last game I played, because it was had the best plot of all and of course it had the greatest villain of all time, Marche.

First that I boot up the game a cut scene started with a little fairy flying around the the screen forcing me to promise that I once I start the game that I play through the entire plot, which is definitely one way to get the players attention.

Then a small farmer’s town, that the protagonist lived all his life gets blown up, we meet up with a woman with a past, and the game has a heavy focus on managing my character’s gears, weapons and move set to maximize the most damage and random encounters.

It is like FF without the name

It is like FF without the name

As I played through the first tutorial I also noticed that the difficulty curve with the monsters you fight against is a tad steep, although I am willing to admit that I might be playing the Jobs system wrong and a looking up a min-max strategy or a few hours of grinding might be in order.

To top it all off the first quest you complete rewards you with a straight up with a Phoenix Down. Bravely Default is so unapologetically Japanese that it caught me off guard. Never the less even with all the cliche plot and micro managing of equipment I feel like I am going to be enjoying this game simply for the touch of nostalgia of the staple of my High school gaming life.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

