#486 The Bravely Default Story

Since I first received my 3DS at the start of last year I have been able to collect quite a collection of games in my library, from physical games, digital games, and virtual consoles. From Pokemon to the staple First Party Nintendo titles like Kirby, Zelda & Mario titles, to some of the few third parties games.

Following the universal unspoken rules of being a big brother I have always offer my old 3DS games, that I have played through, to my younger brothers. Out of all of my collection, only one game in my possession it was only one game caught my brother’s eye and shown an avid interest in playing through, Bravely Default.

Bravely Default is a Square Enix game, published on the 3DS back in late 2012 and it received critical acclaim by reviewers and online personalities praising it as a GOOD Final Fantasy game in all but name. Out of all of my game titles in my handheld library,it has been the only game that my brother has been eyeing since day one, for the very same reasons I bought it.

 I have not played through a JRPG in years, and while I am still working my way through the first part of the plot, I can say the game knows on to capture the audience's attention.

I have not played through a JRPG in years, so I was also a bit hesitant getting back into the genre

While I will gladly let my younger brothers borrow any of my 3DS games that I have already played through and the funny thing is that one game has been placed on my perpetual backlog for various reasons that are only slightly outside of my control.

Just before I started thinking of cracking open Bravery Default, other more noticeable Nintendo and PC games grabbed my attention, then the most recent to the Pokemon games came out, then Smash for the Wii U and then the 3DS. Since my free gaming time is a limited in my schedule all those games took precedent over the Square Enix game and pushed back my play sessions with that totally-not Final Fantasy game back a bit each time. The funny thing is months later my younger brother he still asking if I have played the game yet. It has almost become a running gag, every few weeks or so he will go out of his way to ask me if I have even touched it yet and I point to the factory sealed game, give him my answer and he tries again in later.

I was not in any rush though, just between you and me, consider it punishment for my brother for not have good enough taste to enjoy/ lift a finger to play through any of the Mario, Zelda or Kirby that I highly recommended him to play.

I was not in any rush though, just between you and me, consider it punishment for my brother for not have good enough taste to enjoy/ lift a finger to play through any of the Mario, Zelda or Kirby that I highly recommended him to play.

The kicker is it was only this week when I finally removed Bravery Default from it’s seal to get access to the Club Nintendo code, In an attempt to redeem all the codes, earn platinum raking and cash out on free 3DS games once the customer rewards program closes later this year.

It actually worked out perfect for me, because last month finished my fix of Pokemon with Omega Ruby, and I have just recently unlocked all of the characters and stages in Super Smash Brothers for the 3DS in preparation for all the random kerfuffles I will be having with people at PAX East.  Right now and the re-release of the North American Majora’s Mask 3D  I have a sliver of time where I finally, finally sit down and started playing Bravery Default.

Now my brother finally knows how to get me to play through the games he wants to inherit through the big brother code, by trying to shut down another consumer service that I hold near and dear to me.

Don't worry guys, Steam has the family sharing program.

Don’t worry guys, Steam has the family sharing program.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

