#479 The Post 2014 Winter Steam Sales report

Well Ladies and Gentlemen, the wonderful Steam Winter Sales has ended and with that Gabe Newell has packed up all of his Green Discount tags, Trading cards, and Decorations and placed them all into storage to be brought out next year.

But during that time, all the good little boys and girls of GabeN walked away with a bunch of games from their wishlist and I and no exception, I bought a few games but not as much as I hoped. As I wrote at the beginning of the Sales event, I felt like the magic of buying videogames was gone (Be MOP #472).

Looking back on that post, I might have jumped the gun a bit with publishing the piece only a few days into the event and soon after I made plans to to wait under after the steam sales ended too see if steam was able to rekindle my purchasing vigor or if that initial reaction was right.

What I did was I compared the games I wanted to compare the buying habits of myself from this year and last year.

During the 2013-2014 Winter sales I bought ten games for myself, during this past year’s Summer sales I bought fourteen games. With this most recent sales, the number of games I bought was pared down to seven, with a far fewer indie games and more of a focus on major AAA games that I am saving to play on a new, better, gaming computer.

Both Metal Gear Rising, and Hatoful Boyfriend are two games that playing them on anything less than 1080p60 would be an insult  to the developers.

Both Metal Gear Rising, and Hatoful Boyfriend are  games that playing them on anything less than 1080p60 would be an insult to the developers.

So there’s a bit of truth of my initial blog post, but I might have been too much because for the first time in ever I got another blogger called me out on with a blog post dedicated to offer a response to my post.

Thats when you know you've made it in the blogging world. when another blogger takes time out of their day and website to call you out.

Thats when you know you’ve made it in the blogging world. when another blogger takes time out of their day and website to call you out.

And Nawkcire is right, I was not getting the joy of buying the games I want because I already owned them, and there were no AAA or indie games released in the second half of 2014 that got me truly excited like previous season. I summary, my initial blog post was me wanting to re-experience the joy of Super Meat Boy or the Arkham Batman games, good games that I know are good, but I cant because I already have them in my library.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#479 The Post 2014 Winter Steam Sales report

  1. Well, getting called out on something also tells you that you have readers out there 😀 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

