#477 Games from my Backlog for the month of January 2015

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all were able to ring in the New Year whereever you are around the world. We have a new year ahead of us and with that I need to ring in the New Year by diving into my Library of Alexandria- sized gaming backlog and designating a few games to play through over the course of the month.

But before we talk about the new, let’s do one more final thoughts on the past month’s games.

Bayonetta 2– It is Amazing game, as it has said by everyone online, but somehow Platinum games was able to outdo their previous over-the-top action scenes from their first Bayonetta game.

During my play through my younger brother would swing by and more than once brother asked if the current boss, or even mid-point mini-boss, fight that I was fighting through was the final boss encounter. I even had asked this question a few times as well towards the second half of the game.

I love the Bayonetta series that those two games that made me a complete Platinum fan, so much so that this Christmas season I was able to get Metal Gear: REVENGEANCE for the PC and The Wonderful 101 for the Wii U. The only bad thing is now I fear that I might never enjoy a non-Platinum action game again simply because the two games I choose to introduce myself to the genera set the bar way too high for anyone else.

But one last thing I want to say about this is the impossibility of Bayonetta 2 existing, having the divine intervention of the family friendly Nintendo coming in and funding the project as an exclusive title, having the game run so smoothly with all the hardware limitation of the console, and most importantly of all how Platinum games got Nintendo’s permission and blessings to use their highly guarded Nintendo creations incorporated into a game will full on unapologetic Sex Appeal.

it feels like Nintendo was throwing spaghetti at the wall with this project, finding any way to make Wii U viable, and it succeeded. 

it feels like Nintendo was throwing spaghetti at the wall with this project, finding any way to make Wii U viable, and it succeeded.

Pokemon OR/AS – I have already talked about this game before as well (Be MOP #467) but all I can say about the game is that it was a good game, a great game and one of the must have games in your inventory if you ever go to a Gaming Convention.

One last thing I want to say that I did not cover in that blog post is that I am not a fan of the non-backward compatibility of the new Mega Evolutions between Pokemon XY and Pokemon ORAS. The two games are on the same hardware and runs on the same Pokemon engine and there were no major addition to the Pokedex besides the handful of Megas, which could easily be patched it, compared to the 50-100 new Pokemon we get with each generations, I worry what that means for all future Pokemon installments.

But that is a post for another time

But that is a post for another time

Now with everything from last year all addressed it is time to pick two new games to play through for the first month of the new year, and because I have spent that past few months playing nothing but Nintendo console and handheld games so I feel like I need to balance out my gaming experience by going back to my roots and playing some games have been patiently waiting for me on my Steam Account.

For this months I have decided to play Transistor, the second game from the indie team,  Supergiant Games, creators of the amazing The Bastion game. This game has been sitting on my backlog since the Summer time and after hearing all the reviews and praise this game has received from other people online in their end of the year top ten lists, I feel like no time like the present to power through this game and see if it is as good as SuperGiant’s first game.

The second game I have chosen is, “Strong Bad’s Cool Game for Attractive People”, one of the early point and click adventure game from TellTale games. I bought this one simply to try to relive some the middle school and early High school memories I had sitting in front of my family’s computer, refreshing the Homestarrunner page, hoping to catch the latest episode of Strong Bad’s Emails.

Nostalgia is a powerful thing

Nostalgia is a powerful thing


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#477 Games from my Backlog for the month of January 2015

  1. I just got a Wii U and hope to play Bayonetta soon. It looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

