#476 Finally Buying Super Smash Bros. for the 3DS

Last Monday night, with some spare Christmas cash I caved in and bought Super Smash Bros for the 3DS, on the way to home from work.

This is the wonderful time, for me, where all the extra holiday cash from work and family comes in after Christmas where I go out and buy all the gives I wanted to buy for me.

This is the wonderful time, for me, where all the extra holiday cash from work and family comes in after Christmas where I go out and buy all the gives I wanted to buy for me.

Like before, I have talked about the idea of buying 3DS Smash before (Be MOP #450), knowing that for a fact that I was going to buy the Wii U edition on day one but even with the ability to use the 3DS device as a spare controller for the console game I was still hesitant on buying the same game twice, and at full price no less.

I was still on the fence on buying it this past weekend, until I was talking to my younger brother about my dilemma and he asked me two very simple questions.

Is the game good enough to buy the game again on another platform? The answer is yes. After playing through Smash on the Wii U I can say that it is one of the only two recently released games I would buy again if it meant getting another copy of the game, that and Binding of Isaac Rebirth are the only two games to hold that honor.

BoI:Re for the 3DS WHEN!?

BoI:Re for the 3DS WHEN!?

The other major question was, “Is this going to be one of the major games to bring to PAX and to an extend all future gaming conventions?” The answer was also another yes.

From my observations it has seem that the past few year it has seem that the Nintendo 3DS has secured it spot as THE gaming device to bring to any gaming event. With the StreetPass incentive to push you to bring your device out into the public, but their games like Pokemon and the built in Street Pass games were the perfect ways to pass the time in the long lines I predict Smash will be the same type of game where you can turn to anyone in a line for panel and play a few rounds just to kill time and make a friend or two along the way.

I would not be buying it now if it was not for a PHYSICAL copy of the game's soundtrack. it's like Nintendo knows just how to push the buttons of our wallets.

I would not be buying it now if it was not for a PHYSICAL copy of the game’s soundtrack. it’s like Nintendo knows just how to push the buttons of our wallets.

As I mentioned at the beginning that I did ending up buying the game for the handheld, within the few days of playing the game, and to a surprise to no one, I have surprisingly enjoying the game. Going in I knew the fact that the game would be a full port of the console game but I did not realize what that meant until I saw that it was the full Wii U game with the same controls, all the items, and the full character roster with locked 60 fps, all crammed into such a tiny game cartage

Now I can get good on the go!

Now I can get good on the go!

Funny enough it was the same two questions that forced the same brother I was talking to go out and buy a 3DS, Smash, and the latest Pokemon,  for the exact same reasons, because he loved the game and because he knows that this will be the game everyone will be playing in their spare time at PAX.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “#476 Finally Buying Super Smash Bros. for the 3DS

  1. I got a 2DS this Christmas and ended up picking up Smash Bros. I had never really played a Smash game since the N64 version and even then never played it a lot. I know a lot of people who are obsessed with Smash Bros, so I figured I’d give it a try. It certainly has a great presentation and plays well, but so far I’ve found internet matches to be incredibly laggy and quite difficult to play. Sometimes I get smoother matches, but I still get my butt kicked. Haha, I need more practice.

    -avideogamelife.com

    • I’ve been playing Smash from 64 and kept in touch with the franchise with every edition.

      Im enjoying it simply because I can play the newest Smash game on the go or when the Wii U is used by someone else. and that alone is 10/10.

      What’s your 3DS friend code? we should go a few matches one day.

      Mine’s 2079-7674-5616

Leave a Reply

