#456 Who’s going to PAX East? -2015 Edition-

Earlier this week the people at Penny Arcade started selling tickets to their 2015 PAX East event and I was able to secure my weekend passes for the fifth year running.

The best part of maintaining a blog for over a year is that I can shamelessly reuse topical post titles from this time last year. AGAIN

The best part of maintaining a blog for over a year is that I can shamelessly reuse topical post titles from this time last year. AGAIN

PAX East is one of the few things I look forward to every year. It is a three day experience that is chock full of panels from everything from psychology of gaming, to marketing, to actually building a game an interesting level designs and engaging stories. Beyond the panels and talks there is an expo hall packed to the brim with all the popular gaming companies, showing off their their next games they have still in the works. Lets not forget about all the free giveaways and 3DS passes you collect over those three days.

Its crazy how much 3DS has changed gaming/comic/geeky expos. I was able to grind through the first two runs of "Find Mii" on my first day, by just idly checking my 3DS while waiting in line

It’s crazy how much the 3DS has changed gaming/comic/geeky expos. I was able to grind through the first two runs of “Find Mii” on my first day, by just idly checking my 3DS while waiting in line

All the stuff I just mentioned are just half of the reasons why I look forward to this every year, the other half and the more important half is interacting with everyone there. There has always been something reassuring that everyone there is just as much of an avid gamer as you are, knowing that you could literally turn to anyone in the convention and start talking about your hobby with the same level of passion.

There is an added layer of fun making new friends and meeting up with friends and you have not seen in ages or meeting with people you have only interacted with online. This year I am lucky enough to PAX with year with my brothers and some of my best friends.

But I am curious on who else is going? If you are reading this and you already booked your tickets for this year’s PAX East, feel free to leave a comment down below on which days you are going maybe we could meet up for a Pokemon battle or just to hang out.

At time of writing there are still a few Friday and Sunday day tickets available, if you are reading this while still being on the fence on buying them or not, take it from me (if you can make to Boston for the first weekend of March) go out and snag both or at least one day if you can because the experiences you will have there is well worth the price.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

