#453 Nintendo’s Direct attack on my wallet.

Nintendo held another one of their direct to consumer web stream, called Nintendo Direct. While I was at work during the session but when I got home I was able to catch the highlights and big reveals, out of the entire hour long stream session three things has caught my eye that I want to talk about with all of you.

you know I don't WANT to keep talking about you, but you are the only gaming company that are in the news that are doing good.

you know I don’t WANT to keep talking about you, but you are the only gaming company that are in the news that are doing good.

Mario Kart 8 DLC part 1, Nintendo finally went through piece by piece and showed us what exactly is in the first DLC pack within their Nintendo Minute segment, with showcasing the three new drivers, the four karts, and the two new cups comprised of eight tracks and a release date on when all the content can be downloaded/unlocked on to your console, November the 13th.

While I have been skeptical of what would be in this Nintendo DLC pack, and whether or not the content added would be worth the $8 USD price tag, but after the people of Nintendo showing us that the tracks are a combination of old retro tracks but some new tracks the first DLC pack is well worth the price tag.The Jury is still out on what if the second half of the DLC pack is worth the same price, because I am still not pre ordering the DLC pack.

This and the other DLC pack will serve Nintendo’s purpose of bringing their established player base to go back and pick up one of their games that came out earlier this year, but lets see if this DLC pack will serve my purpose of re exciting the rest of my family to use the Wii U for what I bought it for, a wonderful local CO-OP machine.

Speaking of Co-Op fun, Nintendo released more game play video of Nintendo’s newest game, Splatoon. There is still a bunch of questions I have about the game but the latest video looks fun and the Japan branch of Nintendo uploaded the video to YouTube at 60 frames per second for us to enjoy

I like how Nintendo is stepping outside of their comfort zone with this game and Bayonetta 2. also I swear that Nintendo developers code their game with magic, that is the only explanation on HOW Nintendo games are able to hold at a steady 60fps when every other console company seems to be struggling with their games.

I like how Nintendo is stepping outside of their comfort zone with this game and Bayonetta 2. also I swear Nintendo developers code their game with magic, that is the only explanation on HOW Nintendo games are able to hold at a steady 60fps when every other console company seems to be struggling with their games.

But the biggest announcement of the Nintendo Direct stream was the reveal and confirmation that The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask will be arriving to the 3DS to keep company with the original N64 Zelda port, Ocarina of Time. This, as a surprise to no one, is another instant buy Nintendo game for me.

My family used to have the copy of the original copy of this game but not even I and my brother’s collective gaming knowledge could figure out how to get beyond just beyond the first dungeon after the starting town. Now with about fourteen years between me and my first play through, and watching through a bunch of Zelda Lets Plays, my plan is to go back to clock town and save all the people with an inventory full of masks.

It feels like Nintendo is really trying their hardest bringing their company back into the cutting edge of the gaming market, with a big push on 60 frames per seconds and giving the players exactly what they want. I would hazard a guess this is from the mentality of starting out as the underdog this gaming generation with the console that was not taken seriously by anyone and their company facing financial trouble for the past few years. As the consumer it is great when a company is last in the race, because that is when we start seeing some truly amazing, last resort, plans get green lit.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#453 Nintendo’s Direct attack on my wallet.

  1. They needed some time but they are finally showing how serious they are about facing HD gaming head on.

Leave a Reply

