#452 This Post is about Nothing

I have nothing prepared for Be MOP today. These past few days have been quite hectic and it has directly impeded my plans to write about anything videogame related.

At the start of the week my plan was to get a first impressions post about The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth out the doors today. I was going to start playing at Tuesday 12:01 am for a few hours, head off the sleep go out and become politically active for the majority of the day and then complete a few more runs later in the evening, after all the midterm excitement dies down, and then write about the experience.

Then I learned that, for some strange reason, The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth only unlocks at 1pm Est, which is right in the middle of the day while I was out on the field doing some last minute canvassing and visibility for my home town’s midterm election. I did end up playing a few hours after the New Hampshire polls closed for the day and all the important elections were called by the media channels, only then to be was pulled away from my computer when I heard that my State’s US Senate election, projected to win, turned into a dead even race so I had to watch how that election results turned out.

I also realized that just a few hours of Binding of Isaac is just a sample of things to come. So unless I had the whole day free I could maybe write about it and do it justice.

I also realized that just a few hours of Binding of Isaac is just a sample of things to come. So unless I had the whole day free I could maybe write about it and do it justice.

My district’s election results also came in that night and sadly I did not win a seat to represent my town in the House of Representatives. Even if I did this particular post would not change much because I would still have no idea how to put all of what it means to win a publicly elected position into a single blog post.

How can you take a blog, all about videogames and my opinions on the latest videogame news with a global viewership and successfully talk about winning a public position that represents only one town at the state level, and what it means to my public/private life and this blog without completely isolating everyone that lives outside of my state, or have no interest in politics?

That is a question I have to ask myself in about two years time. For now I am going to go back to work, after that I am going to follow another long running personal political tradition of mine, turning off my phone, closing out of all of my social media sites, of watching the movie, “V for Vendetta”, giving the viewing all of my undivided attention.

It is one of my favorite movies of all time, and I make sure to go out of my way to watch it every year on this day, November the fifth.

It is one of my favorite movies of all time, and I make sure to go out of my way to watch it every year on this day, November the fifth.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

