#449 Kicking off Nintendo Domination Month

Yesterday I finally got around to receiving my slightly belated Birthday gift, Bayonetta 2 and because of the benevolence of Nintendo, along with the sequel I received a physical copy of the first game in the standard edition. Since I am new to the series I have spent most of my free time yesterday playing through Bayonetta 1 before I even touch the shiny new next-gen follow up game.

BayonettaWiiU-1

I have gotten to the point in the game where it introduce the ,lack for a better word, causal insta-kill scenarios into the regular part of the game

Depending on how well I take to these games I might continue the Platinum hype train with buying their earlier Wii U game, the Wonderful 101.

Besides game play Bayonetta is an interesting topic because there is so much one could talk and speculate about. I could go into an full post about how this is one of Nintendo’s first mature rated first party game since Conker’s Bad Fur Day or how it was Nintendo’s choice to allow some of their greatest female characters like Peach, Daisy, and Samus to be cosmetic costumes for Bayonetta, and even pushing the creators to make the costumes even more sexier and what it means for the future of Nintendo and their Family Friendly status that they have been building up for the past few decades.

Or I could talk about Nintendo’s choice actually advertise this game, on both Adult Swim and on the “American men’s lifestyle magazine” Playboy to advertise their Nintendo exclusive game with web advertisements and  they only way Playboy knows how, with a photo shoot with one of their models.

 What a time to be alive. My favorite thing is how the Mii-verse is handling  a game with such unapologetic sex appeal and swearing.

What a time to be alive. My favorite thing is how the Mii-verse is handling a game with such unapologetic sex appeal and swearing.

These are all good topics that I might return to later, once we have more evidence to suggest that this is a new trend for Nintendo, rather than magnificent lighting in a bottle event. Instead I want to shine light in the fact that Bayonetta 2 kicks off what I am calling, and what I have written about before (Be MOP #440), Nintendo Domination Month. I have been waiting for this event for a very long time because within this one month period all of my most anticipated games for 2014, most of them just so happens to be Nintendo IPs, will hit the shelves.

The arrival of Bayonetta 1 and 2 on the Wii U kicked off the season followed by the remake of one of my favorite game, The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth, the only PC game on this list, but from what we saw the advancement of Bayonetta, it could be on the eShop catalog one day. Then sometime in November we will be receiving the first half of Mario Kart 8 DLC, with the introduction of new characters, vehicles and new tracks.

After THAT we finally see  the Gen 3DS remake, Pokemon Omega Ruby/Alpha Sapphire and long awaited Super Smash Bros. for the Wii U released on the same day. All of these games are coming out within four weeks and all of these games are titles I am beyond pumped to buy them all, which is great because recently I have been using my Wii U’s Amazon streaming app more than playing games on it, which is a serious sign that I needed to improve my console’s library.

I will be talking about Smash, the DLC, and my thoughts very soon.

I will be talking about Smash, the DLC, and my thoughts very soon.

Pardon me if for the next month or two I will be focusing mostly on Nintendo’s practice and games, this is the first time in quite a while that I have been excited for the release of any one game, let alone six of them. Heaven only knows how I will be able to juggle my free time between all these games.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

