#448 24 Hours After the 24 Hour Stream

Ladies and Gentlemen early last Sunday, at 8 am to be precise, I finished my first attempt at a 24 hour live stream event in the name of the Extra Life charity.

 I think this is one of my greatest streaming achievement.

I think this is one of my greatest streaming achievement.

Following a day of recovery I am back at full health and ready to rejoin my friends, family and the rest of society. Before I go ahead and talk about any other video game topics that occurred over the weekend, I want to do a quick little recap the extra Life session for those who might have missed it. The event was fun overall, but definitely not as much fun as I imagined. Who knew that just doing one thing, and only one thing, over a course of 24 hours would be tedious and get annoying once I hit that last third of the day.

I said over and over on the stream that the day was like being trapped in the Twilight Zone episode, ‘Time Enough at Last’, finally be given a full day to play what ever game I wanted to play. Funny enough I had a Be MOP post in the wings about how, since I have left college, I have had no time to play as much videogames as I wanted, needless to say that idea has been discarded.

That stream did make me break two of my self-instilled streaming rules, no eating and no slouching, funny enough at the beginning of the stream you see me profusely apologize for breaking these rules but towards the end of the event I was breaking both rules apologetically. Surprisingly, considering this was my first attempt at an event like this, I was well prepared. I had plenty of snacks, fruits, juice and water to keep me well fed during the entire day. and I had enough games installed for entertainment, although I did have a bit of problems with games, knocking down some games down to the right specs that my computer could both play and stream the game at a reasonable frame rate.

A question I was asked over and over during the stream is the question, “Would I ever do another 24 hour stream again?
I answered it on stream and I will give the same answer here, I would gladly do another all day gaming session like this again but I need quite a bit of time to recover and put enough time and distance between me and the last event. I need enough time to make me forget the bad and makes me reminisce about all the good parts, the same thing I do for any season or major event. The short answer is yes, I would gladly partake in another all day stream again especially if it was for charity.

 Despite all the hardship and sleep deprivation, with help from you guys we were able to raise $290.00 for Boston Children's Hospital and for that I thank you all for making this a success.


Despite all the hardship and sleep deprivation, with help from you guys we were able to raise $290.00 for Boston Children’s Hospital and for that I thank you all for making this a success.

***
As promise I need to announce the winner for the raffle to name one of our family’s spring chickens. Earlier today I made raffle bowl full of the names of all the people who donated to me via Extra Life profile and the winner is Mr Thomas K. I will be contacting him for his choice for our pet’s name.

Out chicken has grown quite a bit since then but I will always imagine her at this size.

Out chicken has grown quite a bit since then but I will always imagine her at this size.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#448 24 Hours After the 24 Hour Stream

  1. Amazing stream. SNOZ was epic! I can’t wait for the next one! More n00bs were pwned in one night than the month combined.

    • I do not know what’s more bewildering, you keeping this running gag alive since last we met in the Summer OR that you went through the effort of making a new account and signing up with a new website JUST to make this one comment

Leave a Reply

