#447 The Be MOP Extra Life 2014 kick off post

Tomorrow’s the big day, the day I will tackle and try to complete a continuous 24 hour stream for Extra Life.

For those who do not know what I am talking about, The Extra Life charity is an organization that gets players from all around the world to get together and encourage them play videogames from 24 hours to try to raise awareness and funds for that gamer’s preferred hospital within the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals.

Extra Life Ad_300x250

Extra Life Ad_300x250 Extra Life Ad_300x250

I have heard of the Extra Life charity before, the organization had their presences at both PAX East, Boston FIG, and of course online with self promotion via Twitch. Back in May (Be MOP #376) I tossed my hat into the fundraising ring by signing up for the 2014 extra life challenge, with the promise that if I was able to raise the $200 goal I would broadcast my 24 hour gaming session on Twitch for everyone to see. I was going to do play videogames for the entire day anyways so why not have the Twitch session to act as a reward for everyone who donated.

Between that and the four months and an extra blog posts on my site (Be MOP #416) and one from my mother’s site (Lessons Learned from the Flock #1095) we were able to hit the fundraising goal and then some more.

As I said, thanks to the rules of English grammar, I confidently say that I have raised hundredS of dollars for Boston Children

As I said, thanks to the rules of English grammar, I confidently say that I have raised hundredS of dollars for Boston Children

The Politician that I am would be remiss if I did not remind everyone that that my Extra Life campaign is still accepting donations for Boston Children’s Hospital, but since I have already reached my 2014 fundraising goal I would rather ask all of those who wants donate to a good cause to instead browse through the Extra Life Twitch directory the day of the event (this Saturday) and find another participant who has not hit their fundraising goal yet and help make their day.

Be sure to tune in to my Twitch channel starting at 8am to see me the kick off my 24 hour stream where I will be playing through various games throughout the day. To celebrate I also have special treat for Saturday, a complete play through of the infamous Power Rangers Super Legends (Be MOP #277).

One of the most hated game in my library and I and going to play it start to finish to show it to you

One of the most hated game in my library and I and going to play it from start to finish to show it to you


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment