#439 The Unsung Feature of the 3DS

With this past weekend I could not be bothered to play any game besides Pokemon White and the occasional last few levels of Mega Man 2. Looking back I did feel slightly disappointed about how those were the only two games I played but I soon realized I can’t complain about constantly choosing to go back to an old game out of all my current games.

I am also playing through Pokemon White/Black to unlock the Pokemon transfer feature so I can finally get my Pokemon team from Pokemon Emerald and Fire Red to my Pokebank and get ready for the release of Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire.

I am also playing through Pokemon White/Black to unlock the Pokemon transfer feature so I can finally get my Pokemon team from Pokemon Emerald and Fire Red to my Pokebank and get ready for the release of Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire.

This weekend binge of re-exploring the Unova region it did highlight one of my favorite feature and unsung ability of the 3DS, the backward compatibility to play regular DS games. During the last gaming generation I was slowly moving away from handhelds and consoles like the Wii to the computer side of gaming with World of Warcraft and Steam games but with moving away from consoles with that last generation of games I have missed out on some great first and third party games for the DS and Wii.

Just like a pendulum it always swings back and with the purchase of my own Wii U and the 3DS with the most of my anticipated games for the rest of 2014 are on the Wii U and 3DS and with Nintendo’s  decision to apply backwards compatibility with their previous generation of games I am able to go back play catch up by playing the best of the best in the DS library.

when I had my first generation DS I just played all of the Pokemon games and the odd Mario game, but now I can get the cream of the crop DS titles for cheap at goodwill and videogame stores.

when I had my first generation DS I just played all of the Pokemon games and the odd Mario game, but now I all the mario, final fantasy DS titles I can find for cheap at goodwill and videogame stores. Picture via Wikipedia

I can not praise the backwards compatibility enough, with one (possibly) simple decisions Nintendo has increased the value of the 3DS in my eyes way more their feature to have ports of NES and the introduction of indie games to the eshop, which says a lot because the addition of the eShop is the third biggest contributor to the value of my 3DS, next to actually playing 3DS games.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#439 The Unsung Feature of the 3DS

  1. Nintendo seems to do backwards compatibility better than its competitors. The Wii could play GameCube games, DS could play GBA, and now the 3DS can play DS games! It’s such a nice feature to have!

Leave a Reply

