#437 Games from my Backlog for the month of October 2014

October is here and with that it is time to break out the freshly picked pie, Halloween decorations and start looking for a handful of new games to play for the new month. This is just another installment of my long running series where I try to get my gaming backlog under control.

For September I played through VVVVVV and The Walking Dead Season 2,

VVVVVV was the game I played on my Twitch Stream and as I wrote about it in my pixel perfect post earlier this month, it is a surprisingly open world 2D platformer that wonderfully polished the game and controls by limiting the action to using the Left and Right arrow buttons and the one action button that flips your gravitational pull. It is not much but what it did to was to scratch the itch that I have been having lately.

Closing comments: VVVVVVVV is not a game you complete, or even finish, but rather game to play up to the point where you rage quit. and then you leave the game alone for a few months.

Closing comments: VVVVVVVV is not a game you complete, or even finish, but rather game to play up to the point where you rage quit. Then you leave the game alone for a few months and return back to it for a few more stages.

The Walking Dead Season 2 was another wonderful game, that I played off Stream because I was afraid I could not properly comment on what was happening without ruining the atmosphere and after playing through I was glad that I did not try to live stream the story.

My favorite thing about the game’s series is the interesting depiction of the various political/idealists extremes, whether it be everyone pull their own weight of pure capitalism, the every man for themselves mentality, or the harsh dictatorship in the middle of Season 2. I also like how Season 2 focused on the theme of broken people, as these survivors lasting for so long rather than the theme of constantly searching for hope and haven in looking for Clementine’s parents.

Despite my best efforts the game still forced me to invoke an emotional response from me and even forced me into situations where it was so intense that I abandoned my morals and themes of my past decisions.

TellTale games don't think you could not add a Image comic book Easter egg with me catching it would ya?

TellTale games don’t think you could not add a Image comic book Easter egg with me catching it would ya?

Now that we covered last month’s game lets move on to the games that I am going to play for this month. and this month, the month that house one of my favorite holidays, I am going to do something different. Instead of playing through two set games to play in my spare time I have a few selected Halloween theme games to play on my Wednesday streams to get in the super spooky mood. I am not listing them here because I want them to be a surprise but they are some titles that I have already played and some I have not even installed yet.

The other reason I want to do this is to free up some spare time to read some of the Lovecraft stories. A few years ago I bought the complete works of HP Lovecraft and every October I try to read the all the short stories I can before the month is up, it is pretty much a tradition at this point.

**Monthly announcements**

It occurred to me that these posts would be a good place to list off some video game announcements that deserves some mentions but might not warrant an full post.

The first one announcement is that today is my 23rd birthday! And with that I have two games that will soon to be in my possession. The first one is the Wii U exclusive Bayonetta 2 from my parents and the second one is The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth from my brother.

The funny thing is my brother knows my stance on preordering games, I have talked to him about my personal policy on the matter, using this game as example, multiple times.

The funny thing is my brother knows my stance on preordering games, I have talked to him about my personal policy on the matter, using this game as example, multiple times.

For a special bonus I want to leave you with a Be MOP post I wrote 2 years ago to celebrate my 21st birthday.

 

The second announcement I want to make is just a reminder everyone that I am going to be a 24 hour gaming live stream event on my Twitch channel this 25th on behalf of Extra Life.

this was the reward I promised you guys if I was able to reach my fundraising goal for this year we did so now I have to be true to my words.

this was the reward I promised you guys if I was able to reach my fundraising goal for this year we did so now I have to be true to my words.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

