#436 The curse of being an experienced gamer

With my increasing twiddling free time I have been powering through the Second Season of The Walking Dead game because the game is currently on my chopping block because it is on my backlog. Playing through a major chunk of the story and I can not say anything more about The Walking Dead than I did before with Season 1 (Be MOP #259). Playing the new story is fun and plenty emotional but I noticed that the magic I had experienced with the first game was gone.

One of the Walking Dead’s selling point is that all the choices you make in conversations and the actions you take will affect the story and a year ago when I played the first season I full heartedly believed it. A year later and after seeing some other people’s walkthroughs I realized that the game has certain key events that needs to happen that, no matter what you do you can not avoid.

With that realization it did affect the choices I made in Season 2, for example early on I knew I was going to be keeping me in a house full of new people for a while, knowing nothing could change that I decided not to make waves when talking to these people.

Not like that would help, in both Seasons I played Lee and Clementine as compassionate people who placed more importance on the group rather than themselves, whether I personally keep to that why of thinking when the Zombie apocalypse happens, time will tell.

Not like that would help, in both Seasons I played Lee and Clementine as compassionate people who placed more importance on the group rather than themselves, whether I personally keep to that way of thinking when the Zombie apocalypse happens, time will tell.

I have mentioned this problem here and there a few times before;

In any Pokemon game post Generation 3 I have a nasty habit of building my core Elite 4 team beating team, by the second gym. After following a bit of the professional Pokemon tournaments I know all the move combos and I build them early on even if takes up a quarter of my moveset early on.

After playing so many 2D platforming, whenever I pick up a game I instinctively know where to jump and where to go for any and all secret passages and hidden treasures when I had my first playthroughs of Ducktails Remastered, BattleBlock Theater, and Kirby Triple Deluxe.

And I fear the same thing will happen to one of my most anticipated games of 2014, Binding of Isaac: Rebirth. I have played literally hundreds of hours in the first game and I am afraid that I will be going through the motions instead of experiencing the rush of fighting new enemies and bosses and exploring newly unlocked levels.

My list of most anticipated games of 2014 is, Binding of Isaac Rebirth, Bayonetta 2, Pokemon Omega Ruby, and Super Smash bros for the Wii U

My list of most anticipated games of 2014 is, Binding of Isaac Rebirth, Bayonetta 2, Pokemon Omega Ruby, and Super Smash bros for the Wii U

This seems to be one of the few negative effect of being a experienced gamer where you play a game, and it may be a great game but you end up knowing all the tricks it can throw at you and you go into a new game of your favorite genera with that feeling of not knowing is gone.

And I hate it.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#436 The curse of being an experienced gamer

  1. I share you pain. I often worry that I’m becoming too jaded. To try to combat this, I now go out of my way to avoid spoilers for certain games to try to keep things as fresh as possible. I will say though that the Nintendo 3DS has been a HUGE surprise for me – I can’t exactly put my finger on it but for some reason the 3DS has been like a personal gaming renaissance. The games on that system have been pushing all my buttons and feel like the perfect blend of nostalgia and freshness and I’m really thankful for it. Anyway, I could go on rambling but thanks for sharing your feelings – you’re not alone! =)

  2. I am with you, I am currently investing more spare gaming time on my 3DS than my gaming computer.

    I think you said it best, Nintendo has that wonderful mix of nostalgia and freshness, that and all of their IP/gameplay are on linked to one series of device so you would be hard press to find a good proper Mario, Zelda, or Pokemon clone on anything other than a Nintendo product.

Leave a Reply

