#434 Actually going through my Steam Library

Last night I sat down and took a good long look at the newly updated Steam Client to get my first impressions at the new front page, catalog, and Steam Curators system. I do not who where to start with that, so I need a bit more time before writing anything about the updates.

I do not know how Journalists write about it and form opinions about these updates so quickly.

I do not know how journalists write about it and form opinions about these updates so quickly.

While steam was open I did take a good hard look at my own library. It has been long established that I have complained and tried to manage my gaming backlog with my long running, “Games from my Backlog” series, but it is easier to complain about your own personal Sisyphus boulder as a big massive blob when you do not properly know what you have in your backlog.

because instead of a spending my free nights playing videogames I would much rather look at my collection of games.

because instead of a spending my free nights playing videogames I would much rather look at my collection of games.

With current disposable funds being low, while being bored with the games currently at my disposal, I took a plunge and went through my library and do you know what I found? A bunch of game titles I have absolutely no interest in playing.

Within my steam collection found a handful of indie games, point and click adventure, fighting, and “action adventure” games that I have never had any interest in ever buying or playing in the first place and I presume are only in my possession because they were acting as consolation prizes from Humble Bundles. Interesting enough I also discovered one completely dead game, an A.R.T.S/MOBA abandoned by the developers.

I also found a few Halloween/spooky themed games to play during my October stream session. But do you know what? I also found some fun but forgotten games that I have wanted to play. and last night I pushed the steam and internet connection to the limit by downloading; Dark Souls, Transistor, and Brothers a Tale of Two Son, bought from the most recent Summer Sales, but also Pac-Man Championship Edition, Reus, Risk of Rain and Dustforce and so much more. Resulting in enough games to hold me off until the winter sales and beyond .

During this journey of self discovery  I heard of my parent's words of not having to buy the latest toy because I had enough toys already and I should look through those first.

During this journey of self discovery I heard of my parent’s words of not having to buy the latest toy because I had enough play things already and I should look through those first.

I am curious about all the other gamers with impossibly massive backlogs on your steam account, have you found any games you have bought a while back that you have actually meant to buy and that you still want to play? If you leave your answers down below I am interested in seeing what games have been forgotten by other players.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

