#424 Games from my Backlog for the month of September 2014

Another month, another dollar, and another batch of games to try to tackle in my on going series ‘Games from my Backlog’ to try to trim down the amount of games I have yet to play. Before we talk about the games I will be playing this month, lets sit down and talk about the games I played last month. 

Tiny Brains – I did play this one one of my Wednesday Twitch streams, and in front of the everyone watching, they saw the exact circumstances that game would need to create for me to immediately quit right out of a game. The moment was near the beginning of the game, and I was enjoying the 3D platform puzzles rotating through the four superpowered mice to overcome the room’s challenges, and I was holding my own until I got to one level where it was a waves and waves of enemy NPC, and your objective was to defeat them all before they got to the the little pink chicken NPC in the middle of the room. 

I had handled previous hostile enemies NPC but what made this different and the breaking point for me was in that room the mobs were obviously designed to be Co-Op challenge, the later waves comprised of twice the enemies spawning from each end of the room. Which is a proper challenge for two or more players handling the mobs but when it was just me I was forced to juggle between two sides of the map, which was not fun. 

It was the same problem I had with Borderlands 2, it was a game that seemed to be designed to be played with friends, preferred couch co-op, but the problem occurs when some players can not gather up other people to play with them when they want to play those games. It is still a good game, but I think it flourish more when I need a party game to entertain a group of people,  rather than just one player. 

It was the same problem I had with Borderlands 2, it was a game that seemed to be designed to be played with friends, preferably couch co-op, but the problem occurs when some players can not gather up other people to play with them when they want to play those games. 

Tiny Brains is still a good game, but I think it flourish more when I need a party game to entertain a group of people,  rather than just one player.

 

The Walking Dead Season 2 -This was another game I tried to play on Twitch as well but those who tuned in that day would remember that nightmare I had when my OBS program just was not willing to work with me on this game, freezing the not only the videogame feed but freezing the feed coming from my webcam. 

2013-08-13_00005

 

As a result, The Walking Dead was pushed back to, “when I have some spare time to give”. But here is the thing everyone tells you, but you do not realized until you get into the real world with a full time job, there is no time for spare time anymore. Weekdays are mostly filled with work and running the odd errands and when the weekends are a sacred thing but when Saturday and Sunday comes around, there is always something for you to do. 

Of course most adult gamers do not spend Sundays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays nights crafting rough drafts for blog posts to be published Monday, Wednesday, and Friday morning, then broadcast a three hour stream session later that night, and dedicate the weekends to canvassing around their town. 

But the Walking Dead is one of the few games I want to get through, so in an unprecedented move I am going to bump this game into this month’s games and I have to sit down and schedule some personal gaming time to play this game. 

I'm doing this because I remember how impactful and I am to try to experience that again. but I have to really be on top of my time management. 

I’m doing this because I remember how impactful the story was in the first game and I am going to try by hardest to experience that again. I have to really be on top of my time management.

On top of that, the other games on my chopping block is VVVVVV, a good ole tough as nails 2D pixel platformer. I picked this because I have been playing some easy games lately and I need to start feeling that gaming rush from beating a incredible intense platforming stage.

I will be playing this on my stream and hopefully the gameplay will solicit some entertaining reactions from from me.

791px-VVVVVV_logo.svg

I was able to easily beat Binding of Isaac on Twitch, twice now. I need a proper challenge. 

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

