#421 Enjoying the Palate Cleanser Games

This weekend I finally sat down and plowed through the last few dungeons of Zelda: A Link between Worlds. I do not want to talk too much about it but I will say that the games is the closest thing to an open world version of Binding of Isaac, and I can see what all the game’s praises were well deserved.

Which is not surprising since A Link between two Worlds is a sequel to a Link to the Past which was the template and blueprint for what Binding of Isaac was suppose to be.

Which is not surprising since A Link between two Worlds is a sequel to a Link to the Past which was the template and blueprint for what Binding of Isaac was suppose to be.

 

After such a rich game like Zelda it is always nice to decompress with a game that cleanses the palate between moving on to the next rich game, which is exactly the reason why I started playing Tomodachi Life right after saving Hyrule.

Even though I just started playing Tomodachi Life my first impressions is that it is a life simulation mixed with a point and click adventure game with all of the adventure removed.The Miis with have a problem they want you to address, like being hungry or showing interest in another resident and immediately after that a prompt will appear on screen pointing you to exactly want you need to do.

Do you know what? Even if there is no challenge to the game I am still having fun, importing my Miis of family members and famous people, filling out their personality to the best mirror the real life version, and seeing them all interact with each other can be a great way to relax. Best of all Tomodachi has dual screen screenshot support!

HNI_0018

That's right Reggie is a resident in my island

That’s right Reggie is a resident on my island

 

It is exactly like what Kirby Triple Deluxe did for me too, the cute art direction, the bright music, and simple and easy platform levels are exactly what the doctor ordered after playing up the point in Shovel Knight were I was properly rage quitting out of the game (at the second the last stage of the game) with those unforgiving obstetrical that constantly knocked me down bottomless pits of death.

I have a feeling that Tomodachi Life is one of those never ending games, so I will not be finishing it or completing the game but playing it just enough for it to get to that level of wackiness advertised in the reveal video then getting bored and moving on to the crème de la crème: Bravery Default.

 

been saving this one for last

been saving this one for last. Been meaning to pick up a Final Fantasy-like game for the 3DS for a while now


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

