#417 Building a competent competitive Pokemon team

Lately I have been dusting of my Pokemon White game file, one part because I wanted to replay the game, only after transferring all of my old Pokemons to the Pokebank, because it was the least played Pokemon game, either talking about playtime or total numbers of Pokemon caught it was the lowest number in my library. Back then I was terribly efficient in my first play through, catching the six Pokemon for my main team and only catching about a dozen additional Pokemon over the course of the game and downloaded only one generation V event Pokemon.

BUT also I am rushing through my replay of Pokemon White to unlock the Pokemon transfer feature again so my FireRed and Emerald saves can join the rest of my Pokemon roster, a feature I only remembered about shortly after restarting my save file

Between that and the sudden influx of Generation 5 Pokemons I am constantly transferring caught Pokemons directly the the Pokebank , the excitement of watching the Worlds Pokemon tournament this weekend on Twitch and hype building up for the Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire Gen 3DS remake. I have been thinking of trying my hand at learning and building a somewhat competitive Pokemon team.

only part of my excitement is being able to tune in and watch the matches, the other major source of my excitement is NIntnedo, the king of late adopters, finally getting a channel on Twitch.

only part of my excitement is being able to tune in and watch the matches, the other major source of my excitement is Nintendo, the king of late adopters, finally getting a channel on Twitch.

 

These seems like the only natural progression after playing Pokemon since classic Red, so far I have been causally following the competitive Pokemon matches for a while and it is showing in my most recent Pokemon in Pokemon White and Pokemon Y I scanned through all the available Pokemon from the get go and building my team early on with types that would be able to score super effective hits against every gym leader and elite fours members.

I an not planning to enter any competitions rather just be able to win a few online matches and hold my own in the Battle Chateau while also learning more about the process of breeding pokemons with preferred IVs, training them with EVs in mind, and the right move sets.

Plus I do need a good portable grind fest and a new time sink for a while and just look at this I think I'll be busy for quite a while

Plus I do need a good portable grind fest and a new time sink for a while and just look at this I think I’ll be busy for quite a while

 

 The only thing is, because I am so new to this this school of Pokemon team design I need to start hitting the books on exactly where to start. Any suggestions?

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#417 Building a competent competitive Pokemon team

  1. Props to you for trying this. I cannot wrap my head around competitive battling…

    Anyway, smogon.com is a great site to look up competitive battling info.

Leave a Reply

