#402 What DRM-Free means to me

If you have not already caught wind of the latest Humble Bundle but 2K has partnered with Humble Bundle to release a bundle of their best games for sale including such titles as Darkness II, Mafia II, XCOM Enemy Unknown, The Bureau: XCOM Declassified, Spec Ops: The Line,the entire Bioshock trilogy, and the promise of more games coming soon. As always with these Humble Bundle promotions customizable portion of the purchases going to support for Action Against Hunger and the American Red Cross.

 

All the same Humble Bundle rules apply, pay what you want with two tiers of rewards for  donating

All the same Humble Bundle rules apply, pay what you want with two tiers of rewards for donating

 

But I have been having the same problem that other PC gamers have been having with the any popular videogames promotion, finding a reason for paying for games that I have already own. As of writing I already have half of the games in this bundle, all three Bioshock titles and Spec Ops: The Line with no interest in either the XCOM or Darkness series.

 

this single game that would provide motivation for me to buy the bundle IF I DID NOT ALREADY BOUGHT IT ON STEAM DURING THE LAST SUMMER SALES . A story that many other players have lived through

this single game that would provide motivation for me to buy the bundle IF I DID NOT ALREADY BOUGHT IT ON STEAM DURING THE LAST SUMMER SALES . A story that many other players have lived through

 

I was going to let this Humble Bundle slide by like the some of the previous Humble Bundles and the countless other Bundles I have seen around the internet. That was until I saw a little symbol next to the original Bioshock game.

To the left of the Steam symbol, that's right DRM FREE!

That’s right one of my, and many other gamer’s, favorite game comes in DRM-free format

 

I have written about it before but Bioshock is one of my favorite games, not because of the plot twist, but because it was not a game based around a good guy fighting against a bad guy but instead it is about a guy caught in a city based on a different, although extreme, set of rules and the antagonist is only labeled as evil because held to those set of rules to “never compromise not even in the face of Armageddon”. (Be MOP #255)

I knew there was a reason these two stories were so ranked high in their respective communities.

I knew there was a reason these two stories were so ranked high in their respective communities.

 

Now I add DRM-free copy of this amazing game to the flash drive I carry around that is chock full of some of my favorite games that I would carry around if I ever lose my Steam collection and if I am stranded somewhere with a computer with no internet connection (Be MOP #343).  With that one feature I went out and bought the entire bundle because I might as well buy the entire bundle for XCOM and the promise of future 2K games being added later in the week (an incredible clever fundraising technique Humble Bundle uses which I when more in-depth about it a while ago in Be MOP #256).

The people behind this site are genius when it comes to getting people to hand over more money than the consumer previously intended.

The people behind this site are genius when it comes to getting people to hand over more money than the consumer previously intended.

 

To tie this entire post back to the title at the top of the page, this is what DRM-free means to me, going out and rebuying all these titles not to play it again on another improved platform but so I can have legally own the one game I actually want. Now I can copy it over and over again to my various computers with out a limit from Steam, Windows Live, or any other service, and I can play this one game without an internet connection or worrying about what will happen to the game servers in the years to come.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

