#393 Summer Fun, Sales, and Games

It is finally here! The Steam Summer Sales just went live, it’s a magical time when almost everything on Steam’s digital shelves are on sale for all the good little boys and girls around the web. This is a great time to be online, not only is it a time to pick up games at insane prices and start collecting digital trading cards in order to craft badges to gain points for your camp team but also get your chance to grab some in-game cosmetic items. On top of all of that this is a big time because, for me, it actually buy some games.

I am from a big family and that tends to result in some penny-pinching techniques like, always use coupons, entering ever contest you come across, always eat your leftovers first, and never buy anything at full price when you know that it will eventually go on sale.

About time too because I needed some new games to play too, after sorting through my library of games I played from the games from my backlog and games I have played before I started that project I realized that I just have the games

About time too because I needed some new games to play too, after sorting through my library of games I played from the games from my backlog and games I have played before I started that project I realized that I just have the games

 

With all these sales this is my time to shine, to cut loose and buy games while not breaking the bank. And more importantly than having a small week-long window to buy all the games that are currently taking up residence on my wish list but now is the time when I take a chance on games that I might have never heard of before their were showcased on either the Daily Deals or on the Flash Sales sections of Steam’s front page. It was because of Steam’s incredibly low prices was the reason picked up Dust: An Elysian Tail and the punishing pixel perfect games Super Meat Boy, Binding of Isaac, They Bleed Pixels and Cloudberry Kingdom. These are some of my favorite games of all time that I would never even thought of buying at full price. I even installed and briefly started playing TF2 because of the holiday sale promotional items back in 2011.

It was just to try to get an easy TF2 achievement and I ended up grabbing one of the rarest hats from the event.

It was just to try to get an easy TF2 achievement and I ended up grabbing one of the rarest hats from the event.

 

Now I can take time to actually browse the shops and add stuff to my cart, knowing that these are going to be the lowest prices for this year. And it has already begun, last night I have already added Tiny Brains and Rush Bros.

 

Before anyone says, "dont buy until the daily deal/flash sales" both games were 80% and 90% off. I'll eat may hat if it goes any lower throughout the week

Before anyone says, “don’t buy until the daily deal/flash sales” both games were 80% and 90% off. I’ll eat my hat if either of these games goes any lower throughout the week

 

I already have a few games I want to pick throughout this week but I want to bounce a question back to you for the weekend and the following week, “What games are on your wish list that you hope to pick up during the Steam Sales and do you have any games to recommend now that I am in the mode to buy games?”

PS: Go Team Red!

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

