#388 Getting Hyped for the Gen 3DS remake

Nintendo has announced the Hoenn remake (which will now be known as the Gen 3DS) a few weeks ago but I have not paid it much notice. Sure I brought my yearly subscription to the PokeBank (Be MOP #380) but not much besides that. It was not until more information was started to get leaked and I started talking to my old friends and brothers who played the original generation 3 game was when I really started to get hyped for the remake.

Two facts about myself before we continue: The Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald games were the last Pokemon games that I was completely on board with during the launch, my interest in the series dropped in the next generation of games (Diamond and Pearl) , it spiked a bit in Pokemon Black and White, and it only fully recovered in this most recent games. I always played bought the D/P and B/W games and played through them but I never tried to do any of the side quests after defeating the Elite Four. Secondly, Game Freak knows how to cram content into Pokemon games -and then leave them out in future games- but I already had that rant (Be MOP #319)

This generation has a special place in my heart because while all Pokemon games sucks (compared to the next gen) This one introduced Pokemon passives which helped sculpt the complex and competitive world of professional Pokemon battles

This generation has a special place in my heart because while all Pokemon games sucks (compared to the next-gen(Be MOP #69)) This one introduced Pokemon passives which helped sculpt the complex and competitive world of professional Pokemon battles

With out further ado, in no particular order I would like to list the generation 3 features I am excited to see return to the remake:

Secret Bases: This was one of the features that was sadly dropped in later installments of the Pokemon game, but it was a way to add a bit more customization to your game file with ability to carve out your own little clubhouse/living space in the world and decorate it however you want. What made this feature amazing was when you mixed records with another player through the link cables you were able get a copy of their secret base on your save file, not only that but enter their secret base on your file, see how they decorated their base and even battle their Pokemon team during the time they mixed records with you. This feature, if still kept in the remake, can only be improved with the implementation of WiFi, Friend Codes, and Street pass.

Contests: A new feature that was added for this game which was just a regular Pokemon match but instead of battling other wild pokémons and trainers you try to impress the judges/crowds with your best moves while sabotaging the other contestants. While it was not a major selling point for me but it was an extra bit of endgame content which is a nice addition to have when you eventually get burned out after trying, and failing, to complete the regional or national pokedex. What is best thing is that even through it was dropped in the future game the Pokemon contests needs to return in the remake because a particular Hoenn Pokemon need this game play feature in order to evolve.

The Stakes: This was the first Pokemon game that placed the fate of the world in your hands, and while it was impressive in the 16 bit representation of the world I can not wait to see the same scenes again reenacted in the latest XY game engine. We already saw the in-game cut scene with the Nintendo ORAS sneak peek, which can be found HERE

Hopefully we can actually see some environmental changes to the world besides it just constantly raining or shining too much. But I'm not getting my hopes up in that department

Hopefully we can actually see some environmental changes to the world besides it just constantly raining or shining too much. But I’m not getting my hopes up in that department

 

 

And lastly, Those blasted trumpets: The Gameboy was the first time Pokemon could hold and use MP3 files of actual instruments rather than just chiptunes. That and because of the world was designed, about half of the routes are oceans or rivers and needed to be traveled by surfing and the sea/surfing score became one of the predominant meme for that generation, besides mudkips. I can not wait to hear that sea/surfing theme played with an updated score and knowing Nintendo I would willing to bet that one of the employees will sneak a fourth wall breaking comment about the trumpets.

I do not usually get hyped for future games -too many titles have burned me one too many times times- but this how I get hyped for Nintendo games by talking about the best possible features. That and I get to talk about a fishing story that is ten years in the making. That particular story is for another time.

this one's a good story about hard work and monopoly/ and tracing an entire population of pokemon back to one owner.

this one’s a good story about hard work, monopoly, and tracing an entire population of Pokémon back to one owner.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

