#385 Games from my Backlog for the month of June

Well another month has come and gone since it is the first blog post of the month, it is now time to discuss last month’s games while picking a new set of games to play time to, in ever on going attempt to get through my PC gaming backlog. Last month it chose Poker Night at the Inventory 2 and The Bridge to dedicate my spare time to play.

I wrote about Poker Night earlier this month (Be MOP #381) as I mentioned in the post at the end, it’s a good game and sequel because TellTale can not really mess up a Texas Hold’em game unless someone in coding completely screw up the RNG code for dealing out the cards. At the start of May, when I pick up this game again, I mentioned that I wanted to try to win all of the Borderlands 2 and Team Fortress 2 items from the NPCs in the game. Did I complete my quest to 100% all the collectibles that I am never going to use in TF2? No, I was able to win the Mysterious Orb from Brock Samson but requirements for the unlocking the Portal 2 items were beyond ridiculous.

If I wanted to be efficient I would have won two tournaments while not dipping below 10,000 chips, not to mention grinding even more tournaments to earn the Portal table, chips, and cards set.

If I wanted to be efficient I would have won two tournaments while not dipping below 10,000 chips, not to mention the grinding even more tournaments just to earn the Portal table, chips, and cards set.

 

The other game I chose to dedicate get through was The Bridge, a nice 2D indie puzzle game with stages inspired by the artistic style MC Escher and that was about it. It had some cool mind-wrapping puzzles that was it, it is important that it was not bad, it just was not my thing. With heavy puzzle games like this I often get frustrated and resort to using walkthroughs and guides just to get through a certain stage which more or less ruins any sense of achievement I could get from beating a level.

And whats the point of a puzzle game if you are told the solution?

And what’s the point of a puzzle game if you are told the solution?

 

While The Bridge was not my thing I now have played the game enough to know that it was not my sort of game We are getting to the point of the ‘Games from My Backlog’ project where I am running out of games that I been want to play through and now getting point where I am working through the games I bought because it was bundled with a Humble Bundle or because it was an impulse buy from the various Steam Sales. This is the most exciting time of the project when I could find my new favorite indie or small developer game, like what happened when I bought Binding of Isaac, They Bleed Pixels, or Dust: an Elysian Tail.

I feel just like Sisyphus with this project, I get through quite a bit of games from my backlog but then comes a must buy Humble Bundle or the Summer or Winter Steam Sales comes through and I just add more games to the waiting list than I was went through.

 

Not that I am complaining it just a bit humorous.

Not that I am complaining , I just find it just a bit humorous.

 

Enough about talking about May’s games with the entire summer ahead of me let’s go through and pick two new games to play, Gotham City Impostors: Free To Play, a Batman themed multiplayer shoot em up game, and La-Mulana, a platforming game I bought on Steam only because it was 90% off . This month I am also going to dedicate one of my Twitch Streaming nights to play some of these two game because if I already have a set time of playing videogames for a few hours each week why not use it to get through my backlog?


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

