#382 Enough with all the Batmans

This week I will celebrate my one month milestone of consistently streaming four times a week on Twitch. If you have been tuning in on my regular broadcasting times you know that I have been playing the open beta of Turbine’s Action Real Time Strategy (or as other people call them, MOBAs) game for DC Comics, Infinite Crisis.

As a beta tester I feel like it is my duty to voice any comments or concerns I have with the game. I have mentioned numerous times that I am not a professional player by any stretch of the imagination and I do not crunch the numbers so I have no idea what champion’s move sets needs to be buffed or nerfed. For my lack of professional videogame skills I can make it up by being a huge comic book fan. As an avid fan of both DC and Marvel comics I can confidently say to Turbine and DC, Enough with all the Batmans!

Listen I understand, In the 1989/early 90’s we saw the shift in popularity from Superman to Batman, almost overtaking the last son of Krypton as the face of DC comics. Who can blame us? During that time we had quality Batman movies and Television shows aired that introduced a new wave of children and young adults into comic books. DC Comics saw this and used Batman in every way to keep us hooked by diverting a heavy focus on the Caped Crusader. But that Batman popularity force shows in Infinite Crisis and it has a bit of a negative impact on the game, as of writing right now 2/3 of the games maps takes place in Gotham City.

I understand Gotham Divided's map decision, showing the meeting point of two worlds but there was no reason to make Gotham's Height's map to take place in Gotham. That dominion map would have worked in a Metropolis or Central City setting

I understand Gotham Divided’s map decision, showing the meeting point of two worlds that have merged together but there was no reason to have Gotham’s Height’s map  take place in Gotham. That circular map would have worked in a Metropolis or Central City setting

 

But the Bat-force does not just stop there, in the character selection screen we currently have 11 characters from the Batman series, with Green Lantern being the runner-up with 5 characters from his comic books and Superman follows up next with only 4 representatives.

To only prove my point even more in the Robin profile Turbine made sure to mention that this Robin was Tim Drake (the third Robin) leaving themselves open for a Nightwing, Red Hood, and another Robin. Not to mention the Atomic Age Joker that has been used in the advertising of the game.

To only prove my point even more in the Robin profile Turbine made sure to mention that this Robin was Tim Drake (the third Robin) leaving themselves open for a Nightwing, Red Hood, and another Robin. Not to mention the Atomic Age Joker that has been used in the advertising of the game.

 

Turbine has the licence to use all of the DC creations in their game plue the 2-3 new universes they created for this game. I want to see them use the most of it. I want them to introduce new non-Batman characters, like Lex Luthor, Kyle Rayner, Saint Walker, Darkseid, The Trickster, Metallo, and Black Manta. Or utilize their already introduced champions with the Gaslight and Nightmare worlds that they have already made. This is not just me belly aching, expanding your roster from beyond the usual suspect will benefit you and DC comics.

I will let all in on a little secret, the Batman Animated Series did not get me into comic books, it only got me to tune in for the next episode or movie . It was the Justice League Unlimited with the introduction of all the extras that finally got me interested in following comics, if only  to figure out the back story of The Question, Huntress, Doctor Fate, and Orion.

Not to leave Marvel out but their Civil War event was the first comicbook trade I ever bought and that did the same thing, it showed me a world of other characters that had their own back stories and experiences that you had to go read for yourself.

Not to leave Marvel out but their Civil War event was the first comic book trade I ever bought and that did the same thing, it showed me a world of other characters that had their own back stories and experiences that you had to go out read/research for yourself.

 

If Turbine add these B and C list heroes and get the players interested in those characters enough to go on to the Wiki pages and eventually pick up some actual comic books you will have an invested user base that will help support the game, the parent company (DC Comics), and any new caped videogames that comes out during Infinite Crisis’s run.

So Turbine please, cool it with the Batmans for a while.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

