#380 Finally buying a 3DS game through Nintendo’s eShop

Well it finally happened ladies and gentlemen, after months of owning my 3DS got around to buying a completely digital game through Nintendo’s eShop store. Those of you might remember that I wrote a post about my concerns about the 3DS store before (Be MOP #335) so what changed? The short answer is -as always- Pokemon. During my annual spring cleaning I found my old copies of Pokemon White, Emerald, and Fire Red and with the recent announcement of the long-awaited Hoenn remake I thought that now would be the perfect time to cave in and commit to buying a Season Pass for the Pokebank, Nintendo’s latest service for transferring Pokemon on the DS titles to the newer and fancier 3DS titles and any new titles in the future.

 

Pokemon might be the only driving force to convince Nintendo fans to upgrade to the newest model or device. Now Nintendo just needs to release or hint at a New Pokemon IP for the Wii U

Pokemon might be the only driving force to convince Nintendo fans to upgrade to the newest model or device. Now Nintendo just needs to release or hint at a New Pokemon IP for the Wii U

Sidenote: No screenshots in this post. because as I ranted before the 3DS does not support the ability to take screenshots of the store or any other software and I did not want to take pictures of my 3DS screen through my phone.

I soon found out that I could not just buy the Pokebank directly from the store, in a truly evil move my Nintendo and some other video game companies, if  you want to buy the item from the store you have to purchase credits of increments of 10, 20, 35, 50 dollars before entering the shop’s checkout line. The PokeBank cost was $4.99 as a result I was forced to buy the ten dollar credit. After confirming my purchase for the yearly pass I was left with $5.01 on the account and I wanting a new game for my 3DS I decided to pick up the Virtual Console version Super Mario Bros 3. A classic videogame that I have not played yet, but I blame that on the fact that it came out a year before I was born and that by the time I started playing videogames Super Mario Bros. 3 was two gaming generations away.

The PROPER sequel to the first Super Mario Bros

The PROPER sequel to the first Super Mario Bros

 

Now I am left with two pennies trapped on my eShop account that I will never use again, a common result in games with heavy micro transactions or in-game shop where game forces you to trade in common and perfectly normal currency for their specific brand of credits. I would go on ranting about this videogame sin but compared to all the other practices the video game industry I am tempted to let this problem slide under the radar for now and that is saying something.

So where does that put us now, with one season pass and one completely digital game purchase later? Well I am a bit open to the idea of buying cheap and indie games on the 3DS through the eShop, but only as an additional or consolation prize when I want to buy a digital exclusive game (like the newest Pokemon Battle Trozei game) but when it comes to the full priced, proper 3DS game I am sticking to process of going to my local game shop and buy physical copies of the game. Because if my 3DS gets stolen or damaged beyond repair or recovery I can be assured that my most expensive games are on currently resting on my shelf in my room. On top of that the 3DS games on the cartridges are DRM free, which is not only important to me when it comes to handing down games to my little brothers, but a concept that I believe in and I should find every excuse to support that idea whether it comes to preaching about the topic at the last paragraph of a blog post or by voting for it with my wallet.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#380 Finally buying a 3DS game through Nintendo’s eShop

  1. Pingback: #429 The 3DS Time Capsule | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

