#372 Games from my Backlog for the month of May

Congratulations everyone! We made it through the harsh winter that seemed to invade April and at least for the most of us have finally arrived to that fabled season called Spring with the start of May. As tradition with a new month I need to go through my gaming backlog to pick a handful of games to work through for the next 31 days.

Last month I choose the first Assassin Creed, Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams, and The Swapper and over all I had a bit of an uninteresting gaming month. I played Assassin’s Creed in the hopes that I will be hooked on the series and then marathon through the other three main/major Assassin Creed titles so that I could be all caught up with the Assassin’s Creed story for whenever Ubisoft announces the next installment to the series. But I played about an hour of the game and I hate to say it but the game just did not click for me. I have had other games that were on the Games from my Backlog projects that I could not get through because it just did not get way the game was presented (see Dishonored and Serious Sam 3). I always hate when it happens because if I am to believe that videogames are considered art I feel like I am doing a disservice to the creative team behind the game who put weeks or months of hard work into the project and I just can not enjoy it because of my own personal taste.

I did buy Assassin’s Creed 2 when it was also on sale and I have heard from friends that the second game has of all the plot of the first Assassin’s Creed with improved gameplay. So I might return to the series one day but for now it is going to be placed in the category of media that I just do not ‘get’ right next to first person shooters, medical dramas, and country music.

the hours I spent playing TF2 and listening to one or two country songs does prove that I can enjoy the occasional out-liners

the hours I spent playing TF2 and listening to one or two country songs does prove that I can enjoy the occasional outliners

 

Next on the chopping block was Giana Sisters: Twisted Dream, this game was added because it was an indie 2D platformer game with a bit of a difficulty curve to it, but this was another game that just did not do it for me. the game had some cool ideas, like changing between two different sisters with their own platformer power and when you switch between the sisters the background, obstacles, and monsters seamlessly change as well. and there are plenty of gems and hidden secrets throughout the stages that you can collect but the problem I had with it was that I have played better. That’s partially my fault my love for the 2D platformer started when I started playing Super Meat Boy and it continued when played They Bleed Pixels and Cloudberry Kingdom and when you started with such high expectations it can be hard to enjoy anything below that incredibly high standard. It may have some edge of your seat difficulty in its later stages but it just took too long for me to get there, especially since the other games had their difficulty curve start getting steep after you get through the introduction.

It is still a good game and it is well designed and the art direction was great but I just a good game.

It is still a good game and it is well designed and the art direction was great but I just a good game.

 

The Swapper was the saving grace of the month, but ironically enough I did not have enough time to dedicate too much time for this game. I will be quoting what everyone else have said about the game, that it is a wonderful 2D indie game that could be the spiritual successor of the Portal series. It had amazing atmosphere and it tells you imminently that something is wrong with the world you are suddenly thrown into. My only comment is that if you are a moderate follower of the Science Fiction genre you will be able to guess the big twist the moment you get the cloning gun. Besides that it is still an amazing game.

For better or worse I now have three fewer games on my backlog and now it is the time of the post to pick a handful of other titles to play for this month. This month I think I will go back to only picking two games because between my full-time job, blogging, and starting a Twitch channel my spare time is going to more scarce now that ever before.

Although looking back getting into streaming through Twitch is the best thing that could happen because now I have a set time four times a week to sit down and play videogames, previously that time have been taken up by just mindlessly browsing the internet, procrastinating on the idea of starting up a game.

Although looking back getting into streaming through Twitch is the best thing that could happen because now I have a set time four times a week to sit down and play videogames, previously that time have been taken up by just mindlessly browsing the internet, procrastinating on the idea of starting up a game.

 

For the month of my two games are going to be Poker Night at the Inventory 2 and  The Bridge. I have played a bit of Poker Night 2 but I have yet to complete the game by winning all of the trophies  like I did with the first Poker Night at the Inventory game. Trust me even though I swear to never use the cosmetic TF2 items that does not stop me from wanting to collect them all.

 

Plus I love a good poker match.

Plus I love a good poker match.

 

I picked The Bridge because it appeared on my Steam Library through one of the many, many Humble Bundles and it looks like a fun mind shattering game that takes a lot of cues from the famous works of MC Escher so why not?

"Why not?" a question that has caused so much hassle for me in my life.

“Why not?” a question that has caused so much hassle for me in my life.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#372 Games from my Backlog for the month of May

  1. Pingback: #381 Applauding Poker Night’s Policy on Unlockables | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

