#367 My First Impressions of the Infinite Crisis Beta (again)

As I mentioned last week I received quite a bit of codes and access to the beta testing phase for games. To tackle the newest editions to my gaming library  I decided to reboot an old series that ended slightly before it time, “First Impressions”, a blogging series where I give my first impressions -not a full review- on a new bit of game or content.

For such a comeback I decided to kick things off with one games that was a part of First Impressions line up, DC’s Infinite Crisis, returning to it after just under a year so it could develop some more. I will save you some time and link you to my first First Impressions of Infinite Crisis (Be MOP #247) and after re-reading it a lot of the points I made still holds up with the exception that they fix the frame rate dropping issues and they added more heroes into the fray.

Last time I checked in the game only had 13 superheroes to choose from but now they have 28 characters to choose from, did add original Superman and Batman to the roster.

On top of the new heroes Infinite Crisis  added a handful of new microtransaction cosmetic skins for you to buy. This is where the game has the most potential for comic book fans like myself because the game/art developers have the freedom to pay homage to the any aspect of the DC’s history. If you are looking for a perfect example of this just look at the Classic and Clark Kent Superman skins

Just look at this, It's amazing! I still wont buy it, looking back I am probably a bad beta tester for upcoming Moba/ARTS games because I refuse to spend any money into a free game.

Look at this, It’s amazing! I still won’t buy it, looking back I am probably a bad beta tester for upcoming Moba/ARTS games because I refuse to spend any money into a free game.

One of the biggest additions to the game is the selection of maps. before it just had a capture-and-hold circular map with the promise of a Coast City map and I mentioned before how there was no ‘classic’ 5v5, three lane map. But they did fix that with the addition of Gotham Divided map

As for the heroes themselves I do not have much experience on what to look for in move sets and gameplay, all I can say is that I could competently play support as Wonder Woman and Harley Quinn in the few matches I played

 

I will say that the turrets in Gotham Divided seems to hit a bit too hard and have too little defense/health for any of the enemy teams to properly response to our assault in time.

I will say that the turrets in Gotham Divided seems to hit a bit too hard and have too little defense/health for any of the enemy teams to properly respond to our assault in time.

 

But my favorite addition to the game is the voice acting, banter, and kill quests in the game. Each hero has their own sound file for when you recall back to base and whenever you give an advancement or retreat ping on the map. But there are also certain voice files that are activated when two characters interact with each other. When a team has two different versions of the same hero (like Gaslight Joker & Classic Joker or Atomic age and classic Wonder Woman) near each other they create sometimes exchange dialogue like something along the lines of, “say you look familiar” or make a comment what events might have happened to make their worlds so different.

It does not stop at friendly banter there are lines heroes say after you kill a certain hero, Catwoman will occasionally say “I will miss our little dances Batman” when she lands a killing blow on the Dark Knight and Doomsday will make a comment about how Kryptonian blood is the best when besting the Man of Steel. It really shows the level of detail the game developers added when making this game.

 

the flair really shows that the intro cutscene has all of your teammates flying in with your hero taking the lead.

The flare really shows that the intro cut-scene has all of your teammates flying in with your hero taking the lead.

 

But it is not all song and praise from me, some of my old concern are still there. There is no matches against AI to test out your latest hero you purchased and the item art is too small for me to identify what exactly it is whether it be Abin Sur’s Lantern or Joker’s Crowbar. Although I do understand and appreciate the decision to organize the items with one of three backgrounds so I can quickly I identify what stat will be improved when I buy it.

I appreciate the art decision but I don't approve of it, but I also realize I don't have a much better alternative. Thanks to Dawnbase.com

I appreciate the art decision but I don’t approve of it, but I also realize I don’t have a much better alternative. Thanks to Dawnbase.com for this image.

 

It is still shaping up to be a good game and now that it has a bit more content I think will be return back to it and playing a bit more frequently than before. My hope is that, on top of new heroes and skins, Infinite Crisis will continue to add more maps with new play styles to the game, and something other than Gotham City for a location.

 2/3 of the current maps takes place in Gotham when there are literary hundreds of other places in the DC universe to visits. like Oa, Metropolis and the Justice League Watchtower or the Hall of Justice.

2/3 of the current maps takes place in Gotham when there are literally hundreds of other places in the DC universe to visits. like Oa, Metropolis and the Justice League Watchtower or the Hall of Justice.

 

As I said in my last post about Infinite Crisis, I am still waiting for Kyle Rayner, Doctor Fate, the Russian Starfire, and at least one of the Metal Men to be added to the game.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

