#362 The Liebster Award

This weekend I received a notification from WordPress that I have been recognized by Growing up in Azeroth for a Liebster Award! While I usually do not like talking about just myself on this blog too much, for today I will gladly make the exception.

 

I believe in the rap world this type of thing would be called a 'cypher'

I believe in the rap world this type of thing would be called a ‘cypher’

 

1.    What is your favorite noob moment in WoW or another video game (the more embarrassing, the better 😀 )?

I talked about this one before (and it is my favorite drinking story) by my biggest noob moment was the time I gave up a chance to meet Emma Watson  for a virtual dragon (Be MOP #12). If I was to reveal another major noob moment my another favorite moment was equipping an agility dagger on my undead mage while leveling through the Mulgore zone because I thought that stacking agility would make me run faster.

 

this is one of those times where, even if I had the chance to redo everything all over again I would still chose to stay inside for the night because I get more mileage telling of the story that almost happened instead of what could have happen.

this is one of those times where, even if I had the chance to redo everything all over again I would still chose to stay inside for the night because I get more mileage telling of the story that almost happened instead of what could have happen.

 

2.    You are going to be trapped in a hotel with your family for one week.  You get to choose one book, one board game, and one video game to have for that week.  What would you choose and why?

If I was trapped in a hotel with my entire family, which for reference we are talking about my two parents and five younger siblings, I would have to pack my copy of the completed works of Hitchhiker’s to the Galaxy. For games I would have to choose two co-op games with near infinite replay value that I could play with my siblings, for that I would have to bring along a pack of Uno cards and Super Smash Brawl for the Wii or if we wait a few months the Wii U.

 

I was tempted to put down one of the Mario Party games but towards the end of the week that hotel building would start to look like the set of Stephen King's The Shining. 

I was tempted to put down one of the Mario Party games but towards the end of the week that hotel building would start to look like the set of Stephen King’s The Shining.

 

3.    If you could have one WoW spell in real life, which one would you choose?

This one is easy, because I have about an hour-long commute I would have to pick one of the mage’s teleport spells so I can cut down the time and gas money I spend each week getting to a from work.

 

4.    Zombies or Unicorns?

Unicorns. If only because Unicorns do not go out of their way to hunt you down and kill you.

 

5.    What is your favorite WoW joke/pun?

“I love this planet! I come here; I see cow and chicken and ride little horsies. THIS PLANET HAS EVERYTHING!” Draenei Male.


6.    It’s the last day of WoW before the servers shut down permanently.  What do you do?

Probably take a walking tour of the world and revisit my favorite Warcraft zones (no particular order: 1000 Needles, Hellfire Peninsula, and Tirisfal Glades) and for the final hour I would end up /dance -ing on top of one of the major city’s mailbox.

 

7.    All time favorite movie?

V-for-Vendetta-movie-poster


8.    If you could kill off one WoW characters to bring another WoW character back, who would you kill and who would you bring back?

Besides Garrosh, I would kill off Malfurion Stormrage and bring back Millhouse Manastorm just so that Blizzard or the players can kill that gnome again.


9.    What was your first WoW character? (Calling it now, it was a night elf hunter!)

It was actually an Undead Mage, the same mage that took me from beginning of Burning Crusade all the way to wilds of Pandaria.

 

I still kept some of my old WoW screenshots. I think this one is the equivalent of that embarrassing childhood photo your parents still keeps around

I still kept some of my old WoW screenshots. I think this one is the equivalent of that embarrassing childhood photo your parents brings out at parties


10.    What was your first video game ever?

The first video game that I ever owned was a copy of Pokemon Red. It is actually one of my favorite memory. It started with my parents calling me down to the kitchen where they then presented me a fresh out of the box GameBoy color, Pokemon Red, and the official player guide. While my parents watched as I picked my first starter and played up to Viridian Forest and beyond throughout the school night. Playing with electronics or watching T.V on a school night was an unprecedented event back then and which probability made it so memorable.

11.    What is the one food that you want to try, but are too afraid to?

I really want to try any tropical dish that has pineapple in it, but because of my Anaphylaxis food allergy to the fruit I am  too afraid to try a bite of it. One day I might grow out of the allergy, like the rest of my family, but I certainly do not want to test that theory without proper professional medical supervision.

 

It is more funny to think that someone born in New England would have such a deadly allergy to a fruit that is grown on the other side of the world.

It is more funny to think that someone born in New England would have such a deadly allergy to a fruit that is grown on the other side of the world.

 

Now for the random facts portion of this post:

  •  I have met both Chuck Norris and Oprah Winfrey
  • I used to fence (the sport) while I was middle school and high school
  • One of my most prized possession is a mint condition, still in the box,  original Mighty Mophin Power Rangers Megazord
  • I was a member of the audience of Good Morning America during my first and only trip to NYC
  • My absolute favorite Batman movie is and always will be Joel Schumacher’s Batman Forever
  •  I have previously ran for a seat of State Representative for my district. While I did lose that race, I plan to get back on the horse and try again next election cycle.
  • My voice was recorded on one of WoW Insider’s live shows. Try to guess show number, and which one I was.
  • My first MP3 file was of BareNaked Ladies’s song, One Week
  • In Highschool I went on a school organized week long spring vacation trip to London, Paris, Brussels, and Amsterdam….with my younger brother and my mother.
  • My family keeps a few dozen chickens as pets. Not livestock but honest to goodness pets, each with their own names and personalities.
  • You can all thank my mom for getting me to start blogging after she used my name to sign up for a WordPress account and created a blog for me to build and update as a project to help the family get a dishwasher in exchange for a few dozen eggs. But that story is for another time.

Alright this post is getting on the long side so it is time to pass the nominate a few more bloggers for this challenge, for that I choose

http://www.alternative-blog.net/

sheepthediamond.wordpress.com/

arcanewordsmith.wordpress.com/

and YOU! If you have not been formally nominated for a Liebster Award consider yourself invited to join in on the fun.

 

My questions for you are (and because some of questions that I had to answer were so good I had to pass them along):

1.What is your favorite noob moment in WoW or another video game

2. You are going to be trapped in a hotel with your family for one week. You get to choose one book, one board game, and one video game to have for that week. What would you choose and why?

3.  All time favorite movie?

4. What was your first video game ever?
5. What is the one food that you want to try, but are too afraid to?

6. What inspired you to start blogging?

7. What is your most prized possession?

8. What new game are you the most excited for?

9. What was your first music album? First MP3 file?

10. What is your favorite blog post that you have written on your site?

11. What was one question you wish people asked about you?

 

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

