#360 2048’s evil lure of ‘just one more game’

Last night, after work I meant to crack into some of the new games I have been meaning to get into for this month but I ended up playing a fan made Pokemon version of 2048. Pokemon 2048 is just like a normal game of 2048 but it is much better because it has Pokemon in it. (See Pokemon Snap)

It is just like a normal game of 2048 but it is much better because it has Pokemon in it. (See Pokemon Snap)

2048 is a great game of resource management because the higher scoring tiles will give you more points you don’t use them as much as the low scoring tiles and all the while the higher points take up valuable space which is something you have balance and plan around towards the end of the game.

 

I thought that I would play a quick game of 2048 while checking on my email and various other things I do after work, acting as warm up for my other more complex games.

The problem is that because this game is short, sweet, and based on random number generators I got suckered into reloading after facing the game over screen for ‘just one more game’. Then BAM! I check the time and it ends up being far too late into the night to start the game I was planning on that night.

My apologizes Assassin's Creed, you were just no match the challenge of beating my high-score in a matching tile game

My apologizes Assassin’s Creed, you were just no match the challenge of beating my high-score in a matching tile game. Next time it will be different

 

This is not the first game that robbed a night of and I would to call out the game like, Team Fortress 2, Binding of Isaac, 2048 and I am sure many other titles out there that lures you in with a quick game, and simple controls but it usually ends up sucking out of your play time, a valuable and precious resource now that I have a full-time job and responsibilities like the rest of the adult working force.

I wonder if anyone else out there has the same problem of choosing the simple and quick game as a way to start your dedicated play time and end up playing and replaying the same game into the night. If so leave a comment, I can not be the only one with this problem.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

