#352 Sick of Motion Sickness

Over the weekend I came down with a bit of a chest cold, it is nothing serious but it was bad enough to cancel any and all plans and justify locking myself in my room to play videogames all day.

On top of my regular list my regular games I decided to use this time to break out Serious Sam 3 BFE, one of the two games I dedicated to play for the month. As I mentioned at the beginning of the month this was my first First Person Shooter since Portal 2 and Quantum Conundrum (Be MOP #346).

I booted the game up and after the cut scene of the protagonist in his iconic white T-shirt looking over a city from a Helicopter with an open door I was all set for over the top shooter game with aliens, ridiculous guns, and time travel.

Just look at the protagonist, with a character like that I was on board for nothing a fun time of just shooting monsters, with no major political or subtle intellectual untertones

Just look at the protagonist, with a character like that I was on board for nothing a fun time of just shooting monsters, with no major political or subtle intellectual undertones

After the introductory cut scene and successfully slaying the first few introductory monsters was the point when I started to feel warm, dizzy, and overall worst than I ever felt at the lowest point with the chest cold. Then I remembered why I have not played a FPS since Portal 2 and Quantum Conundrum, it is because I am a part of a small group of people who get motion sickness from playing certain video games.

It is a shame that I get seasick when playing these games because it creates a barrier of entry for certain games that I can not get over, despite my desire to play these games

Somehow TF2 is one of few games that does not affect me. go figure

It’s like a twisted Twilight Zone episode, I truly want to play these games but I can’t, I just get into it without getting sick.

Back when I played through Portal 2 in college I had some amazing pressure point wristbands that magically  -although temporally-  cured my motion sickness, which was the major factor for me completing the game. Unfortunately the pressure point bands in question were lost in the various moves but while I am over turning over every rock to find those wonderful bands again it looks like I am stuck to playing fixed camera games.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#352 Sick of Motion Sickness

  1. Pingback: #359 Games from my Backlog for the month of April | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

