#339 An Ode to the Handheld

For today’s post I just want to say thank you to the 3DS for being there for me when I needed it the most.

For reference, I wrote this blog post at an office computer after staying the night on the mountain where I work because the nor’easter that just recently slammed the east coast left me stranded here and this was the device that kept me entertained throughout the night.

Before I thought my gaming dedicated laptop was portable compared to the bulky consoles and the desktops with their power cords and monitors setup. And my laptop was a part of my core packing list when ever I was on a weekend college trip but my laptop has nothing to offer over my 3DS in ease and portability when it came to deciding which entertainment device to bring with in the possible event that I was snowed in today, and for all future trips.

It is also a lot more inexpensive than my laptop which means less tears shed if it broke "out on the field

It is also a lot more inexpensive than my laptop which means less tears shed if it broke when I was out and about.

I also want to thank the 3DS, and all handhelds in this case, for not having a mandatory online feature to play games where just having an offline mode just being out of the range of a connectable Wi Fi hotspot. In a world where everything is almost expected to be connected to the internet 24/7 it is nice to have a device that can fully function without constantly checking the game’s servers for verification or multiplayer matches.

Take this game for instance, the online features are nice but it's not needed to get the full experience of the game and it's not the major selling point for the game.

Take this game for instance, the online features are nice, and does improve the game, but it’s not needed to get the full experience of the game and it’s not the major selling point for the game.

Last, but certainly not least I want to thank the 3DS for having backwards compatibility, giving me the option to play from the previous generation’s library while I am still in the process of building a solid library from this gaming generation. It is nice to know that I fall back on the must-haves of the past to keep me entertained until I can justify getting my next 3DS game. I know my little brother won’t see it but thank for unknowingly letting me borrowing your copy of Final Fantasy III and Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time.

I promise to not write over your save files.

I promise to not write over your save files.

I only played my 3DS at home, usually in the living room, TV room, or away from the my computer desk in my bedroom but when I am forced to find entertainment away from the comfort of my home, it is only then when the features of a dedicated gaming handheld shines through.

While my go to collection of smartphone games like Color Sheep, Beat Hazard, and Super Hexagon are reliable for a quick gaming fix on the go it just can not hold a candle to the equally portable games that have characters, more in dept game-play, and a full story arc from start to finish.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

