#331 Another PAX East 2014 Post

As I looked at my phone this weekend I realized that Penny Arcade’s PAX East is less than 75 days away.  I would be lying if said that I am hyped for the event and counting the days until April 11th.

I’m also writing this because I’ve been following both PAX and PAX EAST WordPress blog and the last entry on the feed was one month ago. I will not stand for that

I’m also writing this because I’ve been following both PAX and PAX EAST WordPress and the last entry on the feed was one month ago. I will not stand for that so close to the expo date.

 

This will be my fourth PAX East convention and it became a bit of a traditional family outing with me, my dad, and my gaming brothers. Between everything on the Expo floor, the freebies, the internet personalities  the multiple panels running at the same time, and the PAX scavenger hunt that takes place over the three days  you almost need three or four people wandering around, being in constant communication, to get the full experience.

It’s a convention that is so massive in the amount of activities you can do that the only way you know you did a good job was when you get the flu from your compromised immune system that following Monday.

The PAX XP scavenger hunt reminds me of the time my brother and I forced our dad to stay long after all the panels and expo halls has closed down to solve the 2011 scavenger hunt puzzle just to get a little plastic key chain tag.

The PAX XP scavenger hunt reminds me of the time my brother and I forced our dad to stay around the lobby’s front desk long into the night, desperately trying to solve the 2011 scavenger hunt puzzle because the reward was a  little plastic key chain tag and the stratification of solving the really difficult puzzle.

 

But the Convention is only as good as the people there, and while the panels and flashy booths on the Expo floor are a major crowd pleasers, the best part is the people you meet and the activities you do after the expo hall shuts down. Like the time when I was able to meet and causally talk with some League of Legends developers at a Riot bar crawl.

say what you will about being youthful but the best time of playing videogames is with a cold drink in hand.

say what you will about being youthful but the best time  to play videogames is with a cold drink in hand.

 

So I will ask this now, and further down the road, but who is going to PAX East? Feel free to leave a comment below if you are attending, we might be able to create a makeshift blogging meetup.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#331 Another PAX East 2014 Post

  1. Snozell, (I wasn’t sure about this salutation, to be honest, but it’s the best I could find!)
    I’m going to be at PAX East, and if you’re interested in meeting up, I’d be happy to. I’ll have a lot of people in toe, as I always do, which can be a little daunting (I think I scared Ferrel of Epic Slant when I first met him). That’s not to imply any kind of “fame” thing – quite the opposite; I just drag all my friends there (sometimes against their will) and being in a new group can feel daunting.

    I’m looking forward to it, too, and get tired of all the PAX bashing I see. Let’s go and make great memories that we can report back to help get the word out!
    Sincerely,
    Stubborn

Leave a Reply

