#330 Living on Cloud(9)Berry Kingdom

Recently, as you might have guessed by the topic of recent blog posts, I have been playing a lot of Pokemon Y and Kid Icarus Uprising in between my regular dose of Team Fortress 2.

With all the easiness of the challenges and the handholding throughout the Nintendo levels I was starting to worry about succumbing to the casual games, losing my hard-earned hardcore gaming edge.

Binding of Issac is just not cutting it after the 300th hour of gameplay

Binding of Isaac is just not cutting it after the 300th hour of game play. I mean there is only so many times beating the true final boss before the excitement is gone.

 

With all that being said, Thank goodness for Cloudberry Kingdom for providing me with type of fun that you can only get with a hardcore precision platformer. Cloudberry Kingdom, created by Pwnee Studios, was fully funded on Kickstarter by promising legendary difficult 2D platform game and it does exactly that.

What sets this game apart from say, the platformers of Super Meat Boy and They Bleed Pixels is that Cloudberry Kingdom has a set path (that’s highlighted by the floating collectible gems) that will get you to the end of the stage, and then the game randomly generates dangers around that path that is timed just right that you avoid everything within a hair of your character’s hit box if you just follow the path.

Not shown: my character falling off the same platform for sixith time in a row

Not shown: my character falling off the same platform for sixth time in a row

The two problems I had that the game has that at the game has a bit of a slow boil between when you start the game and when you get to the level of difficulty that was advertised. While that first complaint problem get fixed after you breeze through the introductory stages second problem I saw when playing through the game was that because the levels are randomly generated the difficulty can be in flux in the later stages and become incredibly easy because the dangers are placed in areas that can not hit you.

that comes with the RNG levels, same way I can't fault Binding of Issac for giving me the Mega Fetus item in back to back runs.

but that comes with the RNG levels, same way I can’t fault Binding of Isaac for giving me the Mega Fetus items in back to back runs.

 

What cool about it is that in the heat of the moment you have to trust that the gems will lead you through the correct way through the crazy mess of lasers, spinning flames, and spikes, which is the closest thing I have ever had a game simulating a faith in a higher power in as I played through it.

it really tests your faith when it comes to those disappearing/reappearing blocks

it really tests your faith when it comes to those disappearing/reappearing blocks

 

It was in those tight turning moments, on the edge of my seat jumps and dodges where I had some of the best excitement I had in ages, much more than playing with angels on rail shooters or farming eggs to finish my Kalos Pokedex.

Still going to do it through I'm almost a third done with the regional pokedex.

Don’t get me wrong I’m still going to collect them all. I’m almost a third done with the regional pokedex, I can’t stop now.

 

Also, since we are one the topic of hardcore videogames I could not fulfill my blogging duty if I did not mention the most recent Humble Roguelike Bundle that are full of the needlessly hard games with permadeath.

humble bundle rouge

 

Same rules apply. Pay what you want for charity, most of the games are DRM free, and if you beat the average get three extra games to the cart. While I have never played any of the other games, Binding of Isaac and the Wrath of Lamb DLC is plenty of enough reason to pay above the average.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#330 Living on Cloud(9)Berry Kingdom

  1. Pingback: #334 Games from my Backlog for the month of February | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

