#325 My rant about the lack of Screenshot support in Pokemon

Over the weekend I spent my last weekend finishing up the last gym leader getting through Victory Road and Elite Four in Pokemon Y. As I was playing some of the post game, catching Pokemon Y exclusives and breeding eggs for the Wonder Trade and seriously debating with myself to try to complete the regional Pokedex in this game, I started to look back and reflect about the game I just played, now that the main adventure is over.

I mentioned before that the game was incredibly polished, always pointed me in the right direction and I did enjoy the higher level Pokemon and the customizable avatars. While the game might have been a bit too handholding at time boarding just a bit towards boring, that might have been that way because I had to foresight and knowledge to composed a great team and move set and breezed through almost every gym leader and challenger.

652Chesnaught

I had a Tyrantrum with Stealth Rock and Dragon Tail and a Chesnaught with Leech Seed and Roll Out early on which gave upper hand whenever I went into any long Pokemon fights.

 

I did have a problem with the lack of trainers or Elite Four members  that had a full roster of six Pokemon but my biggest complaint I have with Pokemon Y was the lack of screenshot support.

Playing through the game and Black and White and Pokemon X and Y you get the distinct impression that the game developers were showing off their new game engine with their cut scenes, their strategic camera panning of impressive landscapes, and their all new 3D Pokemon models. All those experiences are cool but they would be more amazing if I could save those moments for myself and to share with others.

A perfect example of this was in the Cyllage City Gym where the inside has an inside waterfall in the background and if you  even go behind the Gym Leader  to find a bench and when you sit, and then game cuts away to your character admiring this beautiful constantly running water fall, I just wish I could show you but there was no way to take a screenshot of that image.

The idea of screenshots is not a new one in the Pokemon series, in Black/White and Heart Gold/Soul Silver Game Freak introduced a feature to take an in-game group photo with your current team at specific locations and in XY that features returns more camera features but you can only take a picture of yourself.

Sure, fiddling with the camera features at nice but  this Elite Four photo is just not the same without a few Pokemon in the shot as well

Sure, fiddling with the camera features at nice but this Elite Four photo is just not the same without a few Pokemon in the shot with me

 

Maybe it I have this problem because I play too much PC games with a fully functioning Print Screen button built into the game (or at least built into Steam) and it might be a bit nit-picking, dedicating a whole post to the 3DS’s inability to take  screenshots in Pokemon but then I look at Animal Crossing: New Leaf with its ability to take screenshots at any time in the game and I feel a bit more justified writing today’s post.

When I talk or more importantly write about an adventures in my Pokemon game I want to use my screenshots from the game, not just pictures I grabbed from pointing my phone at the screen.

Sure I might boast how I got to evolve a Froakie to this final stage but the poor image quality diminish the message and professionalism of the photo a just bit

Sure I might boast how I got to evolve a Froakie to this final stage but the poor image quality diminish the message and professionalism of the photo a just bit


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#325 My rant about the lack of Screenshot support in Pokemon

  1. Pingback: #334 Games from my Backlog for the month of February | Be MOP

  2. Pingback: #440 This November is Nintendo’s Month | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

