#322 The Sound of Music in Videogames

Between my Pokemon playtime, I have also sent my weekend dabbling in another game I have had my sights on for a while, and has been on my backlog list for this month, BIT.TRIP Presents… Runner2: Future Legend of Rhythm.

Dont expect too many unique screenshots from me for this game because the gameplay is to demanding to pause for a moment to press the screenshot button

Don’t expect too many unique screenshots from me for this game because the gameplay is too demanding to pause for a moment to press the screenshot button

I have said before that indie games, because of passion or a limited amount of funding, their creators tend to focus on one aspect of a game and then polish that on part to the point of perfection. Super Meat Boy had amazing platforming controls and levels, Limbo focused on atmosphere and Mark of the Ninja chose to focus on third person perspective stealth gameplay.

If I were to say the one gaming aspect that BTR 2 polishes to a shine is the sound of the game. The stage starts off with a terrific soundtrack, completing every obstacle rewards you with a chine or musical note, getting the power ups upgrades the stage soundtrack with more depth, background music notes and -lack of a better word- more oomph in the soundtrack.  And if you play through the entire stage correctly completing the stage rewards you with a wonderful fast paced  musical track. It really makes the game.

and its all the more disappointing when you run into an obsticle, sending you back to the checkpoint and ruining the flow of the soundtrack

and its all the more disappointing when you run into an obstacle, sending you back to the checkpoint and ruining the flow of the soundtrack

 

In my childhood I used to play my gameboy with the sound turned off, it was a combination of one part consideration to my family members around the house, one part because I was multitasking with other activities (read as: watching TV), and one part because I did not like the limited 8 bit soundtrack. Now that I am older I can understand the workings of a game and can buy set of quality headphones for my own I have come to appreciate what a good soundtrack can do for a game.

For example the Gothic Gotham score for Batman Arkham City.

For example the Gothic Gotham score for Batman Arkham City.

 

I was reading a History book on videogames and back in the Famicom/NES days Nintendo would spend an unusual amount of time to focus on their Mario soundtracks, making sure that they got every use of their limited sound effects, and looking back it really shows and I’m glad Nintendo continued to provide the same level of excellence after so many gaming generations.

One of the reason I want this game is just for the sound track.

One of the reason I want this game is just for the sound track.

 

Great gaming soundtracks have always been in games but it takes an amazing soundtracks to make you stop and actually listen to it. I want to pass this question on to you, I talked about BTR2, Batman Arkham City, and SM3W that had amazing soundtracks that left me in awe but what are your’s? What’s one game’s soundtrack that was so good it made you stop and appreciate the game’s music more than usual?


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#322 The Sound of Music in Videogames

  1. Pingback: #334 Games from my Backlog for the month of February | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

