#320 Games from my Backlog for the month of January

Happy New Years everyone, I hope everyone had a great year and I wish that all of your New Year’s Resolutions comes true for the 2014.

On top of being a new year it is also a new month and with that I have to go through my gaming backlog and pick three games to focus on playing for this month. Last month I picked Final Fantasy VII, Paper Please, and Spelunky, for my three games.

Sadly I have to say both Paper Please and Final Fantasy suffered from a lack of dedicated game time because of the busy month, making me unable to play both games to their full extent. Considering how well received both games are from everyone else I feel like I cheated both titles of them because of it.

Even though I didn't play through either of them I can't go back, being stuck on one game to possibly finish it one day was one of the reasons I have such a big backlog.

Even though I  feel bad that I didn’t play through either of them I can’t go back, being stuck on a game to possibly finish it one day was one of the reasons I have such a big backlog.

 

Spelunky was the only game I played enough to conformable talk about, and to that I will say it is a very nice rouge-like platformer with, like all other punishing indie games, perfectly controllable controls.

The only problem was that I farther I ever got to was Level 1-4, but that was not from a lack of play time but more from a lack of skill from me. Much like Binding of Isaac there is a ton of stuff hidden in the game waiting to be discovered and maybe with time I can find them all someday.

With that out-of-the-way, it’s time to pick my three games for this month. Starting out with a bang, and to nobody’s surprise, the first game I have my eyes on is Pokemon Y. I just need to get this game out of my system, and until I beat the elite four and become the every best, like no one ever was, I doubt that I will be able to focus on any other triple A games until then.

January was suppose to be Batman Origins but as they say, time makes fools of us all

January was supposed to be Batman Origins to line up with the cold winter month but as they say, time makes fools of us all

 

My other two games comes from the most recent Steam Winter Sales, the first one is BIT.TRIP Presents… Runner2: Future Legend of Rhythm and the other is Cloudberry Kingdom two very nice pick up and go indie games

It’s funny I started this project in the hope of getting my backlog under control but being of last this week’s Steam Sales has challenged that plan

 By my calculations this one Steam Sale has set me back about 3-4 months

By my calculations this one Steam Sale has set me back about 3-4 months

 

Maybe my 2014 resolution should be to continue this “Games from my Backlog” series throughout the rest of the year so I can do a proper Be MOP Game of the year post this time next year.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

