#319 My Problem with Pokemon’s Inconsistency

This entire weekend, much like last week, was dedicated solely to playing the newest version of Pokemon. To my delight the game is surprisingly well polished, always making sure that I could ever get lost, the soundtrack beautiful and at times is incredibly french, and even opting to keep the Exp Share on in my adventures there is still a huge about of challenging content that I experienced with me still just two badges in.

But more importantly, Pokemon X/Y finally gave the newest generation of Pokemon natural sounding animal cries instead of the chip-bit battle cries of previous games, that broke the flow of the game for me in back in Black and White.

and in a very nice addition Nintendo even added Pikchu's Voice Actress into the game

and in a very nice addition Nintendo even added Pikachu’s Voice Actress to do the battle cries of everyone’s favorite electric Pokemon

 

Even with all of that praise there is one flaw with the Pokemon series that I always found annoying, Pokemon games has this problem of adding cool and unique mechanics in their newest games and then abandoning any support in future Pokemon generation.

Generation II (Silver and Gold) had night and day in the world map and specific Pokemon that only appears in the Morning/Day/Evening or Night. And while they brought the effect in later games but for a few game in between where the map was bathed in permanent sunlight.

My appoligies to this post's images, being unable to take my own screenshots in the game forced to me to use images from other websites. Image via bulbapedia

My apologizes to this post’s images, being unable to take my own screenshots in the various games forced to me to use images from other websites.
Image via bulbapedia

 

In generation III (Ruby and Sapphire) Nintendo not only added the Diving HM mechanic, allowing you to explore the ocean floor for items and sea-dwelling Pokemon but this generation also had the Secret Power/Secret Room minigame where you can carve out hidden customization bases around the world to all your own and if you mixed records with other players with the trading link, you could leave your personalized bases, with a copy of yourself,  in other person’s game. Nintendo never brought it back for future games but that one addition made the Pokemon world seem much more bigger, knowing that your friends are hidden somewhere in your game.

This is the one thing I miss the most from Generation III  Image via bulbapedia

This is the one thing I miss the most from Generation III plus when you shared data with other people you would hear about their adventures on your television.
Image via bulbapedia

 

Generation IV (Diamond and Pearl) had The Underground, a series of mines and tunnels that ran beneath the region and it served a way to causally interact with local players, like a combination of the Secret rooms and a prototype of the 3DS’s Street Pass but it also was a great way to farm for those rare evolutionary stones (fire stones, water stones, lighting stones ect.), fossils and rare shards.

I spent so many hours setting down traps around my farming spot just to mess with my brothers

I spent so many hours setting down traps around my farming spot just to mess with my brothers  Image via bulbapedia

 

In Pokemon Soul Silver and Heart Gold had the selling point of letting the first Pokemon in your party walk behind you throughout your adventures, like they did in Pokemon Yellow, but like all other features, was dropped the feature in future games.

although it was a bit silly seeing the legendary Zapdos following behind you in  the low level areas

although it was a bit silly seeing the legendary Zapdos following behind you in the low-level areas

 

And Generation V (Black and White) had the four seasons but as I was playing through Pokemon X/Y I saw no signs of any seasonal changes to the environment.

While this entire post can be disarmed with the counter argument that Pokemon X/Y is on a new engine and handheld so it is not surprising that they could not fit the old features in this newest games but the gaming world where other series (Mario and Zelda for example) keep the old mechanics while adding something new I find this trend frustrating, because some little additions to the game really made it stand out from the previous generation and I can guarantee that this trend will continue with the next generation of Pokemon games.

But that’s just my two cents on the matter, what do you think about the whole issue about Nintendo choosing not the bring back some of the older features and what was your favorite feature in previous Pokemon games?


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#319 My Problem with Pokemon’s Inconsistency

  1. Pingback: #368 My Comments on the Best Mario Kart Game Ever Made | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

