#318 Finally getting my hands on a new handheld

Christmas has come and gone, all the presents are unwrapped and while I got plenty of gifts the highlight of the day was the Nintendo 3DS.

I cannot wait to collect all the Street passes when I go to PAX East

I cannot wait to collect all the Street passes when I go to PAX East

I talked a bit about Nintendo before, how the Wii U is the only console that I was looking forward to in the now-current gaming generation. Simply it was the only console that brought something new to the gaming world.

Nintendo tends to create first-party exclusives that works with their  specific console hardware, making it tough to argue a port to the PC and unlike the other living room consoles the game’s exclusives like Dead Rising 3 or the Infamous series.

Although Nintendo is not without sin, I still can't connect to the Nintendo Store and update my 3DS or Pokemon Y

Although Nintendo is not without sin, During Christmas evening I could not connect to the Nintendo Store to download some vital update the 3DS and the Pokemon game.

 

It is not just the Nintendo Console exclusives that I care about,  the 3DS has really blossomed over the past two years with a surprising about of must have games for the handheld including Kid Icarus: Uprising , Fire Emblem, A Link Between Worlds, and of course the most recent Pokemon game.

Previous gaming generations I was, lets say, financially stable enough to go out to purchase more Gameboy/DS games outside the few I got for Christmas and Birthdays but now that I am an adult out of college with a proper full-time job I can justify visiting my local game shop more often than once in a blue moon.

To emphasis how I was looking forward to the 3DS, I spent the past two nights curled up in my bedroom completely ignoring my PC -with the still continuing Winter sales- opting instead to poke around the preinstalled 3DS apps and the latest Pokemon game. And both of those nights I had real, genuine, fun going through the new Pokemon region I even kept playing late into the night trying to catch a Honedge for my team on route 6.

The fun is from one part nostalgia one part exploring something completely new

The fun is from one part nostalgia one part exploring something completely new


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

