#307 Games from my Backlog for the month of December

The holiday season is on us, holiday music is starting to get played on the radio, the weather’s getting too uncomfortably cold outside and that means it’s time to pick another batch of games from my gaming backlog that I exclusively focus on it for this month. Last month the three games I had my sights on were Neocolonialism, Sam and Max, and Dishonored.

I wrote about Neocolonialism at the beginning of the month (Be MOP #295) and while there is not much game progression beyond the first few matches (no new maps or additional game mechanics) the most important part of the game is the message about the dangers of the unregulated capitalist techniques in a world that embraced globalism. Because of that I now keep a copy of Neocolonialism on the USB stick that I keep on my person at all times.

It's this, a copy of Binding of Issac, and the album of the musical play of Wicked are the some of the most important files that should be saved in an event of my computer hard-drive crashes

It’s this, a copy of Binding of Isaac, and the album of the musical play of Wicked are the some of the most important files that should be saved in an event of my computer hard-drive crashes

The next game was the episodic point and click adventure game Sam and Max the Devil’s Playhouse and it was nothing short of a blast. I vaguely remember watching some of the over the top Sam and Max cartoon episodes when I was younger but I never played any of the original point and click adventure games by Lucasarts. I am glad this was the first game of the series that I got the play because between the humor and cliffhangers at the end of each chapter it got me invested in the story to keep playing on to see what will happen next, although I did have to resort to using the game guides quite a bit for the obscure puzzles.

As for the triple AAA game was Dishonored and I tried really hard to like Dishonored, especially after getting hooked on the stealthing genera of Mark of the Ninja and the Batman Arkham series but something magical is lost when losing the third person perception and you can not keep an eye of multiple targets in a room from a ledge.

Being able at the enemy in front of me and any thugs coming at me from the side might have been the reason why I thought I could have been a proper Batman.

Being able to see the enemy in front of me and any thugs coming at me from the side might have been the reason why I thought I could have been an awesome Batman or ninja.

For the new month I have to pick three more games for my pick The first one is the  are the difficult plat former, Spelunky, an old classic that I have never played, Final Fantasy VII,  and for my last game is another indie game that launched earlier this year called, Paper Please. I picked up Paper Please because surprise, surprise of the a political setting and message of the game.

If you were following Valve’s activity you might have noticed that all of these games were from the Steam Autumn Sales. So I am making no net difference in my attempt to tackle my gaming backlog but that should not be a problem if there is not another opportunity to buy more Steam games later in the cold wintery month right?

Find me on Google+ for updates on this blog

I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

