#306 The Steam Autumn Sale

Yesterday was Thanksgiving in America and today marks the second day that I am being contently stuffed on turkey, potatoes and stuffing. Today also marks the -now traditional- Black Friday event where people flocks to the stores for extreme sales on the most popular products to get the get a jump-start on Christmas shopping. Not to be left out, earlier this week Valve launched their Autumn Steam Sales with their famous major discounts on a majority of their catalog.

While I always receive an allergic reactions when I hear that stores reopening up earlier and earlier on a national holiday that is meant to be about spending time with your family online stores this is an exception  because you can place your orders in the comfort of your home while the turkey's cooking.

While I always receive an allergic reactions when I hear that stores are opening up earlier and earlier on a national holiday (that is meant to be about spending time with your family) online stores are the exception because you can place your orders in the comfort of your home while the turkey’s cooking.

 

These major sales are the only time I cut financially loose I buy the games I have been keeping an eye on. Right now I already purchased the notoriously challenging Don’t Starve and classic Final Fantasy VII, while keeping an eye on Spec Ops: The Line and The Stanley Parable to be featured on the daily deals.

It is funny because while almost every other store are justifying going out incredibly early in the morning and spending money for the sake of others Valve is just having these sales to yourself. There are the standard 4-packs game bundles and the ability to buy games as a gift for your friend there is no advertised or in-store incentive to buy these games for anyone than yourself.

Why would I hold on to it in my inventory for a few months when I could buy it later during the Winter Sales

Why would I purchase it as a gift and hold on to it in my inventory for a few weeks when I could buy it later during the Winter Sales

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

