#289 Historical Treasures found at the Thrift Store

As a history and political geek and a geek about history I love going to the local second-hand stores to search up and down the aisles for parts of obscure history that others might have overlooked.

In the past I was able to get a paperback trade of DC’s Crisis on Infinite Earths and get the Battle chest of Warcraft III for both under ten dollars…and I was able to find a WWII newspaper that reported the announcement that the US just dropped the atomic bomb on Japan

Over the weekend it seems like the thrift gods smiled on me because I found my second, slightly battered, Blizzard battle-chest.

between Steam and Goodwill it is making it easy commit to my promise to never buy a game a full price.

between Steam and Goodwill it is easy to stay true to my promise to never buy a game a full price.

 

This was an amazing find not only because it has the original game disk, expansion pack, posters, and official strategy guide, but because the entire thing doubled as a time capsule of the past.

The Battle chest is filled with AT&T WorldNet pamphlets, promise of free internet setup from a partnership from Blizzard, Sprint and Earthlink, and even Blizzard’s advertisement for their next game slated to come out at time of release, Diablo II.

This thing is so intact that it even has the product registration post card that you are suppose to mail in for a chance to win "free software and other cool stuff".... which I am planning to mail in.

This thing is so intact that it even has the product registration postcard that you are supposed to mail in for a chance to win “free software and other cool stuff”…. which I am planning to mail in.

 

This was another game that I missed out when growing up in a Nintendo house and while I did play StarCraft II a few years ago when it was first release I have full intent to install and play through this game and the expansion pack

I want to see how far the second game progressed and to pick up on the back story that I might have missed from the first go of StarCraft II.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#289 Historical Treasures found at the Thrift Store

  1. Pingback: #371 Historical Tresures from my Past | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

