#281 Games from my Backlog for the month of October

It’s a new month and as tradition it is time to check in on my personal challenge of chipping away on my Steam backlog by giving myself with a few choice games to focus on for the upcoming month.

steam

I’m actually enjoying this project, I’m going out of my way to play these games I bought.

If you recall I had three games on the chopping block, Deadpool, Evoland, and Back Mesa. I wrote at the beginning of September I wrote how I thoroughly enjoyed the over the top violence and very mature fourth wall breaking humor that only a totally insane character that Deadpool could deliver. Despite the standard combat I still recommend the game to anyone who is over the age of 18 and enjoys that type of ridiculous low brow humor.

This one image just about sums up most of the game

This one image just about sums up most of the game

Evoland filled the Indie game quota in my little experiment, I picked it up because it boasted to take the player on a journey of the evolution of the classic Role Playing Games from 8 bit top down style to modern 3D High definition games design which it does quite well. While the tongue in cheek humor relied heavily on pointing out the clichés of the genre it was not bad, the humor did fall flat at this one point in a city that mimics the Final Fantasy city, with CD loading for each segment of the city.

While it was funny to see the how far we can technically, there was a quest to talk to one NPC on the other side of the city and then you have to walk back, hitting the same three loading screens twice.

While it was funny to see the how far we can technically, there was a quest to talk to one NPC on the other side of the city and then you have to walk back, hitting the same three loading screens twice.

Evoland was still enjoyable and if you are a fan of the genera pick it up, or wait for a sale.

That just leaves Black Mesa, and sadly I just could not get into the game, it was just not my cup of tea, but I’ll try to get more invested in the series with Half Life 2.  If it’s any consolation I bought and completed Scribblenauts Unlimited. So at least I broke even with my game backlog.

But forget about the old and move on to the new, we are now in October, the month of Halloween and because of that I decided to pick games that relates to my favorite holiday in one way or another.

First on the list is They Bleed Pixels, a combat/platforming game that takes story inspiration from the world of H.P Lovecraft.

From a bit I played already it is also quite unforgiving, which is my favorite type of indie game.

From a bit I played already it is quite unforgiving, which is my favorite type of indie game.

The next Halloween themed game is another indie title, Mark of the Ninja. This is one of the dozens of games that I bought but never even bothered to download the game to my computer.

I've heard nothing but good things about the stealth in this game

I’ve heard nothing but good things about the stealth in this game

Last by not least the triple A game about the best ninja/detective/crimefighter ever, Batman Arkham City.

A rich guy is dressing up for a single night of fun, that is the definition of Halloween.

A rich guy is dressing up for a single night of fun, that is the definition of Halloween.

I already completed this game before but because of some Windows Game account shenanigans the completed file was erased locking me out of all the DLC packs and those now infamous skins that I already paid for. I am also refreshing my memory of the series to prepare for Arkham Origins.

Fun Fact: I only picked up the Arkham Asylum game when I saw an online Arkham City interview that mentioned that both Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill reprised their role as voice actors for Batman and Joker respectfully and how this was Hamill’s final performance as the Clown Prince of Crime.

and I want to wear the Batman: the Animated Series outfit and fight a pack of bad guys at least once.

and just once I want to wear the Batman: the Animated Series outfit and fighting packs of thugs at least once.


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

