#278 My first impressions with Scribblenauts Unmasked

Today I would like to talk about a game that was just release last night and that I fear might be overshadowed by other gaming news this week. That game today is titled Scribblenauts Unmasked or as I call it Scriblenauts: DC Comics edition.

2013-09-24_00004

 

I talked about Scribblenauts before, I wrote in a previous blog post (Be MOP #267)  and how at face value the Scribblenauts Unlimited is a point and click adventure game without the adventure but the real entertainment came from the subtle references and the creative alternative ways you could solve people’s problems.

For example, at the hospital there was a black knight that needed to reattached his limb. Don't worry though, it was a flesh wound a spawning a bit of glue made him as right as rain.

For example, at the hospital there was a Black Knight that needed to reattached his limb. Don’t worry though, it was a flesh wound, applying a bit of glue made him as right as rain.

 

I tried to complete Scribblenauts Unlimited this week in preparation for this next newest edition but despite my best effort I became too bored with it and  abandoned my project around 60% completion. One might ask, “if I could not complete the previous Scribblenauts game then why did I go ahead and downloaded this one?” I purchased this game because it promised me one thing, obscure comicbook references and boy did it deliver.

Because of its nature of switching writers, artists and responding to the current political and cultural trends comicbooks has created some interesting stories and characters that are laughable in hindsight. Remember that time where Superman was able to sneeze away an entire solar system? or when Superboy punched a hole in reality? And lest we forget the Wonder Woman villain Egg Fu, a giant evil egg that tied people down with his mustache and made them swear allegiance to the communist party for their freedom.

 Ahh the Cold War was a gold mine for crazy superhero stories

Ahh the Cold War was a gold mine for crazy superhero stories

 

Officially DC Comics’ policy has always been to hide questionable characters and stories from their history by way of universe reboots but I am proud to say that Scribblenauts celebrates all aspects of the DC comicbook past.

The game starts out with Maxwell and Lily using their magic notebook and globe to travel to the DC universe where they are confronted with a mysterious evil twin of Maxwell who is helping all the DC villains. Now you must team up with Batman and the other members of the Justice League to foil your evil twin’s master plans.

The game changes a bit from before, in the previous game there was  little to no main over arching story. You would zone into each location and help the set amount of people’s problems and move on once you are completed everything that can to be done.

In this game there is a main story mode in each of the major DC cities along with a handful of constantly changing random problems that can be solved before you move on. The motivation to complete the side quests is because it gives you points to unlock more locations and costumes for max to wear.

again the problems can be solved by just spawning what they want.

Just like before all these problems can be solved by just spawning what they want.

 

But as I mentioned before the best part of the game was its creativity and it’s references, when you first enter Gotham City your introductory quest has you to fix Commissioner Gordon’s car and then transport a criminal from the police station to the helicopter on top of the building.

If you paid attention to the comicbooks or the Arkham videogames you realize who he is and that he should not be anywhere near the a children game.

If you paid attention to the comicbooks or the Arkham videogames you realize who he is and that he should not be anywhere near the a child’s game.

 

From there you solve problems from everyone’s problems with all the resources this superhero universe has to offer you so naturally I challenged the game to come up with the oddest characters and it pasted with flying colors. When I wanted to spawn Catwoman it politely asked me if I wanted the Catwoman from the 40’s, 60’s or 90’s and it also gave me a choice on which robin to summon to fight alongside Hal Jordan on Oa.

Carrie Kelley all day everyday

Carrie Kelley all day everyday

 

Talking about fighting does segways very nicely with the two complaints that I have with this game. Because this is a Superhero game there is a lot of fighting in the plot, but the game’s engine does not handle combat every well. With any hand to hand combat consists of you and the bad guy taking turns punching/slashing/shooting each other until someone loses all their health.

I soon learned that every fighting confrontation can be solved by just spawning  your favorite superhero team, take a seat, and watch as your creations swarm the threat.

The Blue Lantern Corp is my personal favorite go to team

Nobody messes with the Blue Lantern Corp. but I am partial to the Teen Titans at time.

 

My second complaint is that while this game is filled to the brim with  lesser known heroes and villains in the DC Universe it does not have the New Guardians’ most noticeable villain, Snowflame. You know, the over the top bad guy that draws his powers from consuming cocaine.

I know that he debuted and died in New Guaridans #2 and that he might send the wrong message to the little ones but come on he's a fan favorite

I know that he debuted and died in New Guardians #2 and that he might send the wrong message to the little ones but come on he’s a fan favorite.

 

Besides those two small complaints I am quite happy with the game and after I am done with the main story plot I am going to find infinite replay value recreating some of my favorite moments in the DC universe.

and that is just the start of it

and that is just the start of it


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

