#277 My review/rant of Power Rangers Super Legends

Ladies and Gentlemen I have an amazing post for you all today. A while ago I was cleaning out my room and along with some rediscovered books and things from my past and one of those things were the only two PC games that I have physically bought and I think today I need to talk about one of them.

I think I'll save the Spider-man game for when I talk about delivering fan service in videogames.

I think I’ll save the Spider-man game for when I talk about fan service in videogames.

I was actually looking for the Power Ranger game for quite sometime because last month (August 28) marked the 20th anniversary of the first Power Ranger episode airing on television and what better way to celebrate the show than talking about a game that was released for the 15th anniversary and that I bought from a discount store two years ago.

On top of being a fan of videogames, Doctor Who, Pokemon, and comicbooks I am also a huge fan of the Power Rangers. I have been ever since I saw the first batch of teenagers with attitude and through thick and thin I can proudly say that I have seen every single Power Rangers episode.

There was this one time were Burger Kings stores, nationwide, were handing out photocopies of signed photos of tommy, the white power ranger, and I did not stop pestering my mom until I had a mighty morphin' kids meal.

There was this one time were Burger Kings stores, nationwide, were handing out photocopies of signed photos of the white power ranger as promotion for the first Power Rangers Moive and I did not stop pestering my mom until I had a mighty morphin’ dinner there.

With everything about my past that is why it pains me to say that Power Rangers Super Legends is the worst game I have ever played. Ever. I do not say this lightly, this games fails on almost basic gameplay aspect. As a special treat I am going to dissect each and every part and show those lucky readers who did not buy the game why it is so bad.

I had to not only initially play this game but re install it just for this post. You are going to suffer with me.

I had to not only initially play this game but re install it just for this post. You are going to suffer with me.

Right off the bat this game commits one of the greatest videogame sins of all time, locking exclusive gaming content behind different consoles.  The special selling point of this game is that you were able to play and unlock the different power rangers with in their locations and fighting against that season’s monsters. This game came out for the PlayStation 2, Nintendo DS and the PC. The PC and PS2 does not only have their own separate stages and unlockable rangers but a completely different plot in the DS game. That means you would have had to buy the game twice, for two different consoles, to get the full Power Rangers Super Legends experience. but trust me when I say would not want to.

The game starts and you are greeted with a motion comic cut-scene that quickly describes the plot of the game. In the PC/PS2 version of the game Lord Zedd have harvested crystals that allows him to travel through time and with that ability he is going to destroy all the rangers from history.

The only good thing I will say is that the plot is solid, at least passable for an excuse to have the Power Rangers of the past and present to meet. I also can not fault the motion comic style if you are on a budget, which it seems they this game was on, it is not the worst visual medium to use.

besides they already used the time traveling plot for several power rangers crossovers.

besides they already used the time traveling plot for several power rangers episodes, seasons and crossovers.

But while I can not criticize the plot or the cinematic I can shame the terrible script and worst voice acting. Every character has to announce what they are doing and the conversations are stiff, unoriginal, and downright cliché at times. I know it would be ridiculous to get back all the original actors back to do the voices but the developers should have at least hired people who actually tried to put effort into their lines. I found a YouTube video of some of the collection of the cutscenes, for fun see how far you can make it through.

Again this bad for the Power Rangers standards.

Again this bad writing from the standards of an average the Power Rangers show

After a few awkward conversations you are thrown into the stage accompanied with clunky jumping and movement controls and terrible camera angles. I can not count the times where I did not know if the monsters were going to get back up after knocking them down or if I was standing on a breakable floor tile.

Each level takes place in a past ranger setting and the level is divided into three parts, the first section you get to pick one of the two default rangers of that area and battle your way through that season’s henchmen that comes in three flavors; the small/standard size, the medium-sized one with a gun, and the large enemy with a cannon.

You are equipped with one melee attack and one range attack you are tasked to move from the left to right and fight through the same monsters over and over again while you also try to find floating bubbles,  collectables props, and floating letters that spell “RANGER” all to raise your score at the end of the level to unlock one of the other rangers from that season to play as.

Also if you throw enough punches you can use the special move where the Power Ranger poses and deals massive damage to everyone on screen.

and if you throw enough punches you can use the special move where the Power Ranger completes a silly pose and deals massive damage to everyone on-screen.

After you get through the first third of the level of dull-repetitive action platforming Guess what?  You are then dropped into another stage with the same monsters, collectibles and dullness as the first stage but with this stage being slightly harder and stretched out.

But that is not what everyone wants to play when they get a Power Ranger game it is the Megazord fights makes up the most exciting part of a Power Ranger episode. That segment could not be that bad, even it you are given the same clunky controls it would still be amazing to fight as a giant robot right?

If you think that big megazord fight sequence is synonymous with boring turn-based quick time events then prepare to get your mind blown because this is right up your alley.

EngineImplementation_Retail 2013-09-21 21-14-53-67

You and the level boss take turns attacking each other like some terribly slow fencing match. When you launch your attack you have to press the correct arrow button pattern and if you do it right you get to knock down the boss and a chunk of his health vanishes. When he attacks you have the option to complete another button sequence to try to reduce the damage coming your way, and if done correctly you can deflect all of the enemy damage.

But to keep you on your toes during the intense boss fight the boss will randomly start to body slam you and you have to mash one of the arrow buttons to stave off the attack.

I know BOP IT toys with better game play

I know BOP IT toys with better game play

But I did not want to notice all those flaws in my first play through. I was not going to quit this game until I got to the one stage that made me initially buy this game. I wanted to play as one of the original Power Rangers and fight Rita Repulsa’s putties in Angel Grove.

I would like to thank nostalgia for getting me to give me some type of enjoyment playing through that level, QTE zord fights and all. I even fought better than I did previously to unlock some of the other original rangers for my hard work I was reward with the ability to play as Billy, the Blue Power Ranger. But no amount of early-90’s-Saturday-morning nostalgia could get me to see past this flaw, can you see it?

He’s an image of the Red Power Ranger…

EngineImplementation_Retail 2013-09-21 21-08-17-84

and here’s an image of the Blue ranger.

EngineImplementation_Retail 2013-09-21 21-18-26-51

If you still cant see it look at this and scroll up to the sixth image from the top.

Eerily similar.

….Eerily similar

It is the same model but just a recoloring the outfit. The game developers could not even be bothered to change the red, T-rex helmet to the Blue Triceratops.  I did not realize it earlier because in the later series the helmet and designs were not that varied from the rest of the team. I also know it this is a smallest flaw in the grand scheme of things but the fact that the game developers could not be bothered to make that one change for an unlockable character was the straw the broke the camel’s back. After that moment I stopped playing the game, uninstalled it, and had it buried my sight and mind

This game was unrealistically bad, there was no redeeming points from this game that makes it stand out at all. It is boring, repetitive and no love or care was put into making this game. It is the only game that made my both angry and disappointed while I was playing it.

I would not be so mad if this was a run of the mill power ranger cash-in game, but this one was the 15th anniversary, the one to celebrate fifteen years of an ongoing television show. This should have been a better game and the sad fact is that it is a stain on the whole Power Ranger series.

I don't even think they are making a game for the 20th anniversary event

I don’t even think they are making a game for the 20th anniversary event

 

With that rant out-of-the-way my question to you is, “what is the worst game that you have ever played?” and why? I would love to know in the comments down below.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#277 My review/rant of Power Rangers Super Legends

  1. Pingback: #438 The Ghosts of Dead Be MOP Posts | Be MOP

  2. Pingback: #447 The Be MOP Extra Life 2014 kick off post | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

