#274 Witnessing the Fruits of Labor from Indie Developers at Boston Fig

Last Saturday I made my way to Boston for the 2nd annual Boston Festival of Indie Games, Boston FIG for short. During my time down there I was able to sit in on people from the gaming industry as they gave their talks about the problems they faces in their quest on making  and it made me glad that I have absolutely no desires or plans to produce my own game.

I would write and act as a member of their PR team for those games, but my skills are nonexistent when it comes to computer coding and making art for the game. and all the power to those who can and are doing so

I would write and act as a member of their PR team for those games, but my skills are nonexistent when it comes to computer coding and making art for the game. and all the power to those who can and are doing so

 

I also, and finally, got to attend my first videogame concert, the Boston Plays Indies event, and jam out to the works of Deadbeatblast, Control Group, DJ Cutman, and Video Game Orchestra live.

That's right I got a signed copy of DJ Cutman's album, it big deal.

That’s right I got a signed copy of DJ Cutman’s album, it may or may not have made my night.

Even with all of that, the best thing about the entire Boston Fig event was the expo hall where indie game developers showcased their prized games, and it is events like this that reminds me why I follow the indie gaming scene.

Did you want an in-browser PvP game where you get build custom spaceships and fight against other players across the world by using the same wonky controls as the original Asteroid game?

co.llide_logo_b480

Co.llide is for you

 

Are you interested in an on-the-go mobile jigsaw game with point and click adventure elements that takes place in a fantasy world where you have to stop your evil brother from destroying the kingdom? 

321616_324631480999279_1340566371_n

then keep an eye out for Puzzle Axe coming to iOS and Android soon

Or are you more angry about the idea that stateless companies and a select few billionaires are competing against each other by spending an incredible amount of money to influence members of government to persuade them to open up mines and factories in their name and rigging the free market so that those mines owned by those billionaires makes the right deals with factories in other nations (which are also owned by the same companies) in an ever-growing race to see who can manipulate the free market the most and walk away with the biggest pot of money at the expense of other?  – Oh I’m sorry, it seems one of my old college papers got mixed in with the notes I took for today’s post.

….what, I was mistaken and there is in fact a game that is exactly that and it’s called Neocolonialism?

 AH HA, YES! POLITICAL SCIENCE!

AH HA, YES! POLITICAL SCIENCE!

This is why I love indie games because most of those games that I just mentioned( and the many more that I didn’t mention) would not have been greenlit by most companies but that didn’t stop these developers from going out there and making the exact game that they wanted to make and delivering it into the world either by themselves or with a very small team.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

