#268 Games from my Backlog for the month of September

It is the beginning of a new month and you know what that means, it is time for me to pick go into my videogame backlog and find three games to focus on actually completing for the month of September. Last month I chose the Walking Dead, Dust an Elysian Tail, and Borderlands 2. While the first month of this new project was not a flawless victory I was able to complete both the Walking Dead and Dust but it was at the expense of an unexplored Pandora.

I just couldn’t get invested into playing Borderlands 2 in the single player mode. I played some co-op with my friend and that was fun but playing alone just could not same type of entertainment and I think the level of fun that was originally intended when designing the game. It seems like Borderlands 2 is destined to be grouped up with Castlecrashers and Diablo 3 and the sort, games that are best enjoyed at LANs or a gaming night with friends.

A shame too because I bought all the DLC when it was on sale.

A shame too because I bought all the DLC when it was on sale. Oh well live and learn

 

As sad as it is not finishing Borderlands 2 it had its time to shine and I have to move on, getting caught up by games that I had every intention to finish but no desire to was one of the major gaming roadblocks that caused my gaming backlog.  

First game on the chopping block for September is the game I downloaded a while ago at the constant urging of my friend,  Black Mesa.

Black-mesa-logo

I downloaded it like he asked, just never actually played it

Black Mesa is a fan made mod that is intended to provide a shot for shot remake of the original 1998 Half Life game with the current Source Engine and ideally I want to complete this and the rest of the Half Life games by the end of the year.

To provide a counterbalance to Valve’s critically acclaimed game is something more action-packed and low brow, this next game in my sights is the recently released Deadpool game. From what I have seen from the trailers and gameplay videos it looks like a good old-fashioned crazy shooter game that keeps true to the violence and humor of the Marvel comicbook series.

I have high expectation that this game will be provide the most off the walls type of fun.

I have high expectation that this game will be provided the most off the walls type of fun.

 

Last but certainly not least we have the Indie game Evoland to scratch the itch to play a new RPG. This one caught my eye because the major selling point was that Evoland lets the player experience the evolutionary stages the RPGs genera went through with each new generation. This one made the list solely because have a soft spot for RPG games since that was the type of games that I played the most when I was a child (read  as every Pokemon and a few Final Fantasy titles)

 

from the small amount of time I was playing it over the weekend, it has the same type of humor as DLC quest. Pointing out every graphical upgrade with a clever quip

from the small amount of time I was playing it over the weekend, it has the same type of humor as DLC quest. Pointing out every graphical/gameplay upgrade accompanied by clever one liner

 

I’ll see you guys Wednesday with what I thought about the beta of Blizzard’s Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#268 Games from my Backlog for the month of September

  1. Evoland should take you no time at all. There is a “completionist” aspect to it, but that’s optional. The game, afterall, is an homage, but you should be able to complete it in a few hours, tops. I think it took me 3 hours, and I generally game at a snail’s pace.

Leave a Reply

