#265 Being Truly Surprised by an Easter Egg

Spoiler Alert! This post talks about the game, Dust: an Elysian Tail, and the Easter eggs about the game. If you are currently playing through the game or plan on every playing through it without a game guide please skip this post

As the warning would suggest, today I want to bring to light an experience I felt while playing through one of the games on my backlog for the month of August. As I was playing through the main story of Dust when I was exploring the snow level -and there is always a snow level in these fantasy/adventure games-  when I discovered a door that was artistically different from literally everything else I saw in the game leading up to this point.

The door was a lot more rugger while everything else was hand painted. I should mention that everything from coding to art design was made by one person, he deserves major props for that.

The door was a lot more rugged and blocky while everything else was more hand painted. I should mention that everything from coding to art design was made by one person, he deserves major props for that.

What was stranger was once I entered I was teleported to a weird pixelated puzzle dungeon where I had to navigate from one side to another with the entire screen out-of-order.

it's hard to describe the challenge itself but imagine you were platforming through an animated 2d sliding puzzle

it’s hard to describe the challenge with a still picture but imagine you were platforming through a field, viewing it through a 2D sliding puzzle 

After proving myself with three different puzzles, I was greeted with a treasure box that needed four keys to open (compared to the normal treasure boxes that only requires one key), after a simple QTE button sequence the protagonist of Fez popped out with an achievement and a notice that I received a 5% bonus to my health

Tah Dah!

Tah Dah!

 

While it is nice to see game developers pay tribute to other game developers what really makes this story noticeable was that I was completely surprised by this Easter egg. As I was exploring I was expecting a rare in-game item or a special piece of armor, not a 4th wall breaking treat and that was truly surprising.  Being genuinely surprised is a rare experience to have when you are playing a videogame during the age of the internet.

The Internet have done great things for the advancement of humanity in almost every aspect imaginable but it has kind of ruined any and all the surprises in videogames. We are in a time where videogame websites, wikis, and guides provides step by step instructions on to get through the game’s story, side quests and gather all the collectibles that are available for public consumption within days of a game being release. With all that instant information it makes stumbling upon a secret that you did not know about before hand a very rare treat. This one Easter egg was the first time in, I am willing to bet in years, where I was  caught off guard by game’s secret that was truly a secret to me and not just a secret to everybody.

 

P.S: I am aware of the irony of dedicating a whole post about truly hidden secrets while spoiling the one in Dust but there was no other way of writing this post without talking about it. You know how the saying goes, you can’t make an omelette without breaking a few Easter eggs. And I did ruined any other surprises the game had in store for me once I went online to see what and where the other friends are.

No body puts Meat Boy in a box.

That’s because no body puts Meat Boy in a box.

 


I’m also on Twitter

Be MOP focuses on the world of videogames with my own reflections about the current news and developments that happens throughout the gaming industry. Updates Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “#265 Being Truly Surprised by an Easter Egg

  1. “We are in a time where videogame websites, wikis, and guides provides step by step instructions on to get through the game’s story, side quests and gather all the collectibles that are available for public consumption within days of a game being release.” And God help you, if, when playing an MMO, you don’t read those ahead of time to figure a bosses every movement.

    This is why games like the Sierra masterpieces of old were so great. Cheating cost you a pay call to a number that gave you 1 answer at a time, all for a fee, or if you already had a friend who beat the game. Now? If a puzzle takes a little too long to figure out, we can just Alt-tab and look it up. That’s why they say the adventure genre is dead.

    So, I 100% agree… surprise is no longer something people want. However, some of us still have the willpower to not read the last page, even if not doing so is sometimes considered rude.

    • MMOs have a huge problem with Datamining,even if you are a causal visitor of your favorite MMO news site you wind up learning about every bit advancement in the lore for the next few months.

      \While I was on my little online soap box complaining about the whole thing, I should have mentioned that the burden keeping Easter eggs and spoilers a secret is, and has always been, on the person playing through the game. In the past the burden was choosing not to buy the player guide (or calling the answers hotline) and now it’s choosing not to go on certain message boards or watching a Lets Play series of the game. I was somehow lucky enough to avoid the spoilers while playing through Arkham City and Bioshock infinite and still ended up being surprised by the endings even months after both were released.

  2. I was so surprised when I found this Easter egg, but loved it!

Leave a Reply

