#254 The moral dilemma I face with hats in TF2

Recently I have talked quite a bit about Valve’s Free to Play First person shooter, Team Fortress 2, (see Be MOP #245 and #248) and how I do not like Valve’s introduction of creating, collecting and trading hats and other cosmetic goods into Tf2’s meta game. In my opinion it breaks the game’s immersion seeing someone wearing a hat that goes against the original artistic design of an American west battleground in the 60’s and 70’s. Financially I understand why Valve chose this path, ever since TF2 went free to play the game needed another source of income to keep the servers going.

The whole TF2 hat thing baffles me because you do not actually see the hat your wearing, only your enemies and teammates can see your spiffy new toy. Atleast with League of Legends you can see your champion's new skin when you play the game

The whole TF2 hat thing baffles me because you do not actually see the hat you’re wearing, only your enemies and teammates can see your spiffy new toy. At least with League of Legends you can see your champion’s new skin when you play.

Rather than kicking up a fit on the message boards and forums about my opinion about TF2’s hats and boycotting this amazing game I am sticking to the man by making a personal vow to never to buy the Supply Crate Keys or wear any cosmetic hat or weapon skins.

although it hasn't stopped me from accidentally collecting the hats from random drops and from other cross-promotional games and holiday events

although it hasn’t stopped me from accidentally collecting the hats from random drops and from other cross-promotional games and holiday events

I’ve been holding true to my own personal protest with the ONLY exception being the Heavy weapon, the Iron Curtain, that I won from the Heavy in Poker Night at the Inventory, and I justify that because during that time in history America was in some of the best years of the Cold War and it is fitting for a mercenary that is right off the boat from the USSR.

Also I am a little bias because I'm a political science junkie and just look at it! It is a minigun with the Soviet Russian hammer and sickle on it!

Also I am a little bias because I’m a political science junkie and just look at it! It is a minigun with the Soviet Russian hammer and sickle on it! THAT’S AMAZING!

Besides that I held true to never wear a hat on any of the nine classes when I am on the battlefield but then I stumbled upon the Halloween holiday-event hat Ghastly Gibus and the Pyrovision Goggles from the Meet the Pryo event. After a little research I found out that these items can only be obtained by dominating an enemy player that has the hat equipped.

I wonder if most serial killers view the the world through this perspective....

I wonder if all serial killers view the world this way….

Here’s the problem, on one hand I do not want to wear the hats so that I can keep to my one-man protest against the hat trading business but on the other hand I grew up with Spock’s mantra “the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.”

But I want to know what you think about this issue, should I hold true to my vow of refusing to equip any sort of hat in-game or should I violate my rule and wear these hat to give other players (who might value Valve’s hats more than me) a chance to get these two hats at my expense? And what would you do if you were in my shoes?


I’m also on Twitter

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “#254 The moral dilemma I face with hats in TF2

  1. In your opinion and experience what is the #1 FPS?

    • Have to add in a “and why?” to that question… I mean really, hats can’t be what makes or breaks a game.

      • I actually enjoy TF2 quite a lot and I do rank it as my favorite FPS in terms of gameplay balance and the ability to pick up and play. The hats are not a deal breaker for me, since I still finding myself booting it up each night, it is just a flaw I have with the game, but it is a necessary evil since I only was interested/picke up TF2 after it went Free to Play

  2. I have never played TF2, but I hear you. I never buy any in game cosmetic items for any game I play either. I feel it is a waste of money.

  3. Pingback: #381 Applauding Poker Night’s Policy on Unlockables | Be MOP

  4. Pingback: #408 A year without World of Warcraft | Be MOP

Leave a Reply

